White Chili

October 22, 2008 at 12:35 am | Posted in Chicken, soup | 4 Comments

We looove chili in our house – Tommy does, I do, and the kids do.  I have been in a soup mood lately with the weather getting more fall like and Tommy isn’t a soup person so I wanted to find something that I thought he would like.  I decided I would go with white chili.  He loves spicy stuff and he loves chili so why not?!  I found this recipe on allrecipes.com that had a ton of great reviews so I thought I would give it a shot. 

This is quite possibly the sickest picture I have ever taken and put on this blog, but it is what it is.  I apologize.  LOL

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 (4 ounce) can diced jalapeno peppers
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile peppers (I forgot to buy these so I omitted)
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper (I halved this)
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) cans chicken broth
  • 3 cups chopped cooked chicken breast (I used two cups)
  • 3 (15 ounce) cans white beans
  • 1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Slowly cook and stir the onion until tender. Mix in the garlic, jalapeno, green chile peppers, cumin, oregano and cayenne. Continue to cook and stir the mixture until tender, about 3 minutes. Mix in the chicken broth, chicken and white beans. Simmer 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. (I simmered for about 30 minutes)
  2. Remove the mixture from heat. Slowly stir in the cheese until melted. Serve warm. I added about a tablespoon of fresh salsa to mine.  I served this with Multi Grain tortilla chips.

Mrs. Pig Rating – I REALLY liked this recipe.  I wasn’t sure what to expect but it was the perfect amount of spiciness for us.  I loved this with the tortilla chips.  I froze half the batch for later since it’s just the two of us.  I am sure it will make for yummy leftovers!  Definitely a keeper.  This will be fab in the cold winter coming!

Pig Rating:  The pig really liked this one as well – score!  He put crackers in his instead of the chips.  He said it tasted similar to regular chili – I disagree, but whatever.  LOL  He definitely said keep this one!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. YUM! I ♥ white chili. My fave 🙂 I’m going to have to try this out.

  2. What’s that one blog…the ugliest food blog..something like that? You should totally submit. LOL I kid. I love white chili. 🙂

  3. Jamie – definitely try it! It’s easy and so good!

    Alanna – seriously. I need to submit this. This picture is hideous but I know better than to submit something new without a picture. LOL Hopefully I can take a better one next time I make it.

  4. […] millions of recipes but I never get around to trying them.  So when I found this one on my friend April’s blog- I couldn’t resist.   This recipe had a little kick to it which I didn’t expect.  […]


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.