Foods I Currently Can’t Live Without

March 25, 2010 at 4:13 pm | Posted in Breakfast, Healthy Snacks, Organics | 7 Comments

As promised I am going to start showcasing some of the more healthy items that I put into my belly on a regular basis.  🙂  I think it’s amazing how far healthy food has come in the past 5-10 years.  You now don’t have to just eat styrofoam boring rice cakes as snacks.  There are so many options out there!  So here are some things that I currently cannot live without:

Annie’s Bunny Grahams – Honey Flavor: So these little bunnies are amazing.  When I want something sweet I grab a handful of these and it definitely curbs the craving.  And the top of the box says to gently tug the ears to open – is that cute or what???  But onto the good stuff – these come in four flavors, they are trans and saturated fat-free, made with organic wheat flour and organic evaporated cane sugar, and are also a good source of calcium.  Yummy bunnies!

Bear Naked Fit Granola:  I have had an obsession with Bear Naked Fit granolal for quite some time now.  Some people need their coffee in the mornings – I need this.  Bear Naked makes several great granola flavors but these are my two favorites.  I mix it every morning with Kashi H2H cereal for a yummy filling breakfast with my banana.  Onto the good stuff – made with real whole grains, low sugar and good source of fiber, low glycemic index, all natural – no artificial flavors, no cholesterol, no hydrogenated oils, no high fructose corn syrup, no preservatives and 0 grams trans fat.  Also vegan and vegetarian friendly if that is your lifestyle.  Go buy this – NOW!

OIKOS Organic Greek Yogurt:  I used to hate yogurt but I have acquired a taste for it in the past year.  I eat this for my morning snack and also use it in cooking meals that require yogurt.  The good stuff – it has twice as much protein as regular yogurt, less lactose, and fewer carbs.  The plain yogurt has 0% fat and just 80 calories per serving which is great for a morning snack. 

Clif Bars:  And last but definitely not least, my absolute favorite little protein bar currently, the Clif bar.  More specifically the chocolate chip peanut crunch Clif bar.  For some reason I had always thought that these things must taste like crap, but let me tell you, eating this one is like eating a dessert that I shouldn’t be eating.  It is SO good.  I have one of these before a workout sometimes or in the morning with my breakfast if I don’t have time for cereal.  The good stuff – great organic ingredients, high in protein and fiber, all natural, and no trans fats.  Did I mention how YUMMY these are?!?!

Okay, now go out and buy some of this stuff!  Let me know what you think of it all.  🙂

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOVE! I love all that—especially the bunny grahms. I have to be careful or I’ll eat the entire box. LOL.

  2. So glad you liked the Clif bars! These are all such yummy, healthy foods!

  3. So this all sounds great, but for those of us who are new to being healthy, where to buy them would be very helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Dusty – Hey! Good point! 🙂 Everything on this list can be purchased at WalMart among other grocery stores. I buy all of this at WalMart on a weekly basis though. Yes, WalMart…I hate shopping there but I save money so what do you do? 🙂 The granola is with the cereal-top shelf usually, Clif bars are with the weight watchers, etc. items near the medicine, bunny grahams are with the cookies (even kids love these!).

  5. Thanks so much April, and keep sharing! I’m just really getting into this and it’s overwhelming to figure out stuff that really is “healthy” while so many products claim to be but still have bad stuff in them for you. The kid ideas are great too, trying to get my son eating better, daddy has created some bad habits with him! I worked so hard when he was a baby, I nursed him 13 months, made all his baby food from scratch with all fresh veggies, and now that he spends 3 hours with daddy before I get home every night I have a little dorito/Oreo eating machine!
    So one more thing, is hydroginated oil bad? Not sure if I spelled that right, but I’ve found these Tiawon veggie chips (google them) but they are carrots, squash, sweet potatos, green beans, and somthing else that are baked until cruchy like a chip kind of in that oil. They are so good, just wasn’t sure if they were really “good” for me. We found them at a store in Jasper. Anyhow, I’ve been exercising religiously and watching what I eat, lost 31 pounds but still have 19 to go! I read the book “skinny bitch” by Rory Freedman and even if you don’t turn pure vegan like they recommend it is a motivating, eye opening book to what you put in your body! Pretty sure I’ve lived on diet coke for years, had no idea a chemical in diet drinks turns to famaldhyde in your body! Crazy! So I’ll quit blabbing, thanks again for sharing! Any other advice send it my way!

    • my boyfriend swears by Clif bars, but I’ve always assumed they were the chalky protein bars like everyone else’s. Hmmm. I might try them…

      I love Annie’s…

      I’m also thankful for Trader Joe’s–lots of low cost healthy organic snacks. Maybe one will come your way soon! :0)

  6. oops, sorry Dusty–didn’t realize I was replying to you!
    :0)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

