Hurricanes

September 22, 2009 at 10:36 pm | Posted in Drinks, Fun | 3 Comments

I have a few summery recipes that I need to get busy putting on here since the first day of fall is today!  Yikes! 

My friend recently had a Hurricane at Hard Rock Cafe and she raved about it.  She said we had to make them for our next party.  First attempt was kind of blah but for my mom’s b irthday party, I mastered it!  I made a few changes to the recipe that I found online.  There are several different versions but this is what I ended up with that I found to be intoxicating…literally.  These puppies are no joke – they taste so good that you forget that there is quite a bit of alcohol in each one.  Drink with care!!

DSC08525

Hurricanes – my version!

Ingredients

(I double everything but the alcohol when making these for a tall glass)

1/4 full of ice

1 oz light rum

1 oz dark rum

2 oz orange juice

2 oz other fruit juice of choice – I used mango V8 Splash and it was AMAZING

Grenadine

Directions

Put all ingredients except the grenadine in a cocktail shaker.  Pour mixture into glass and then drizzle just a bit of grenadine in until it makes a pretty swirly drink.  Stir it up and drink it up! You can use a cherry and orange slice for garnish if you choose.

Mrs. Pig Rating:  This is absolutely delish!  I will make these continually for parties and this is an awesome summer drink. 

Mrs. Pig’s family rating:  My mom and stepdad both really enjoyed these.  My stepdad said we need to definitely take the recipe with us to Florida in January – this would be a perfect sitting around the pool drink – I agree!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Um…yummy! We’re planning a girls night on Friday and this just might be on the menu…

  2. Lora I think you would love these! Perfect for a girls night in my opinion. So fruity and yummy – let me know what you think if you do it! 🙂

  3. I just figured out I can leave you comments! I think these will be perfect for the Florida vacation too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

