Operation Baking GALS: My Goodies

July 10, 2009 at 1:00 am | Posted in Apple, Bars, chocolate, Cinnamon, Cookies, Dessert, Fun, Operation Baking Gals, peanut butter | 5 Comments

This past weekend I spent Saturday and Sunday baking for my Operation Baking GALS group.  Did I mention that I ended up with over TWENTY people in my group??  I was ecstatic!  I could not have asked for a better response to my incessant begging asking people politely to join my group!  I am already looking forward to doing it again sometime soon.

I debated back and forth on what all to bake and well, I couldn’t make a decision so I ended up sending two boxes.  I made 4 different things.  Actually 5…but not sure one of them will make it.  I ended up making snickerdoodles, chocolate chip cookie bars, apple spice cookie bars, and magic in the middle cookies.  In addition to that, I made half a batch of sugar cookies because my brother requested those…not sure they will make it there due to the icing but if not, well, he can toss them.  🙂

Baked goods for Luke

Like I said, I ended up with way too much for one box so I ended up sending two.  But hey, he’s my brother, I can spoil him a bit right??

I ended up using 4 of the large Ziplock containers and 4 small Gladware containers.  I was able to stack 2 Ziplocks on top of one another and 2 Gladwares on top of one another in each box with room to spare to add in some other small goodies.  I used the method of putting apple peels between the paper towel layers between each row of cookies.  We shall see if it works!

All packed up and ready to go!  Isn’t the Baking GALS logo cute on the box?!

I’d like to give a HUGE thank you to everyone who participated (and is still participating….still 2 days until the shipping deadline!) in my group this month.  It meant the world to me and I can’t wait for Luke and his fellow troops to receive all of the goodies!

Once everyone has shipped, I will do a roundup on here telling what everyone sent and hopefully showing some pictures of some of the things that were sent (hint hint to those who baked for me…  😉

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OH MY GOSH!! That is amazing!!! Awesome job!!! Hmm… I would love to help do something like that!

    Laura

  2. I’m on it tomorrow…baking and shipping!

  3. cinnamoncoffee – Thanks! If you’d like to join a group, definitely go to the website. Everyone always needs people on their teams!

    On – YAY! I’m so excited that you are going to be able to help out this time!

  4. I’m so glad that you posted about this on your blog. It just looks like so much fun, and what a great reminder that we can all spare a little time and love to make someone happy.

    And, the food looks so GOOD!

    http://squidart.wordpress.com

  5. […] I said in my previous blog post, I made chocolate chip cookie bars, apple spice cookie bars, magic in the middle cookies, […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

