A Big WOW and THANK YOU!!!

June 30, 2009 at 6:09 pm | Posted in Cookies, Operation Baking Gals, Randomness | 2 Comments

If you’ve read my previous post, then you know that I have joined a wonderful group called Operation Baking GALS. I just heard about this group recently, decided to get more info, and then decided, “Hey, I’ll just dive into this head first and be a team leader this month!” I was a little nervous about taking on the role of team leader my very first time even doing anything with the program. After all, do I really know that many people who would be willing to bake a box of goodies and ship them to my chosen soldier (obviously Luke!) and his fellow soldiers?? But I decided to go for it.

The response for this – was AMAZING!!!! I posted it on both of my blogs, my Twitter, and my Facebook and I have had an overwhelming response. Normally they like to cap the groups off at 20 so of course my goal was 20. πŸ™‚ I thought it might be farfetched but you know what? I am up to EIGHTEEN signed up so far!! WOW WOW WOW! So I just wanted to post a giant THANK YOU to everyone who has agreed to help me on my first whirl as team leader for the GALS. It means so much to me because I’ve become really excited about this project and my brother has already told his fellow soldiers that they would be getting a big load of goodies soon so they are awaiting the arrival of all the yummy goodness!

I am excited because tomorrow officially begins the shipping dates for the baked goods. The shipping dates are July 1 – July 11 for this round. I plan on baking this weekend and shipping on July 6 (which is also my two year wedding anniversary I might add!). I really really want to send my famous sugar cookies (er, Erin’s famous sugar cookies…) because my brother loves them and requested them but I’m way too scared of the icing melting I think.Β  I may try a few and have him let me know how it goes.Β  Other than that I’m making apple spice cookie bars, snickerdoodles, magic in the middle cookies, and chocolate chip cookies.Β 

If you are on my team and you have any questions, please let me know and I will be more than happy to help. If you were unable to help with my team this round, don’t worry. I have a feeling this won’t be my last run as I’ve had so much fun with this project πŸ™‚

THANK YOU SO MUCH AGAIN EVERYONE WHO IS HELPING

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is so fabulous April! Congrats! Let me know if you are team leader again. I totally want to participate but those dates are my bussiest two weeks of the summer. I have no time to bake or get my ass to a post office. This is such a fantastic group. I love this idea. I can’t wait to see how Luke liked his cookies πŸ™‚

  2. Jamie – I will definitely let you know next time I do it πŸ™‚ I am very excited about it. I mean it’s something small but it still lets them know that people DO care what they are doing over there and remember that they are there you know? πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

