Cherry Mojitos

June 17, 2009 at 1:16 am | Posted in Drinks | 2 Comments

Another fabulous Katie recipe!  I never get tired of looking at her blog – always something new that I see that I need to put on my list!  I am totally into making fabulous summer drinks to sip on while sitting out on the patio.  Summer evenings are my absolute favorite!  This recipe sounded yummy and I couldn’t wait to make it!  I had never pitted cherries before and I, uh, didn’t have a cherry pitter (is that what you call it?!) so I just kind of had to improvise but it turned out okay  🙂  A new toy to invest in maybe?! 

Recipe from Good Things Catered:

Ingredients:
1/4 c. sugar
1 1/4 c. fresh lime juice (about 9 limes)
1 lb dark cherries, such as Bing or Burlat, pitted
2 1/4 c. best-quality black cherry or plain vodka (I used Smirnoff black cherry vodka)
1 (750 ml) bottle sparkling water

(I halved this as it was only my husband and I and even then that was way too much!  Definitely a party recipe!)

Directions:
-Bring sugar and 1/4 c. water to a boil in a small saucepan, stirring until sugar has dissolved.
-Remove from heat and let cool completely.
-Syrup can be refrigerated in an airtight container up to 1 month.
-Halve 2/3 of the cherries and add all cherries to large drink container.
-Stir in vodka, lime, and syrup.
-Refrigerate at least 1 hour (up to overnight).
-Fill 12 glasses with ice.
-Spoon 1/2 cup cherry-vodka mixture into each glass.
-Top with sparkling water; serve immediately.

Pig Rating:  I figured the Pig wouldn’t like this one so much.  He is more of a beer guy if he drinks something.  He said it tasted too much like cough syrup?!  Um.  NO.  Perhaps he has bad memories of any cherry flavor from childhood?!

Mrs. Pig Rating:  These were YUMMY.  Too yummy in fact.  I could drink these and not realize that the alcohol is in them.  It will get ya’!  🙂  I will definitely make these again.  I highly recommend for a relaxing summer evening with friends!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OMGOSH! Why did oyu have to post these? Now I’m CRAVING them! These are my ultimate fave!!

  2. Oohhh me thinks I need to make this one soon. PS- Get yourself a cherry pitter! Sadly I think it’s a lot of fun to de-pit cherries. Then again I am kinda lame like that. HA HA!
    /Clara


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

