Hershey’s “Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Cake

June 1, 2009 at 10:50 pm | Posted in Cakes, chocolate, Dessert | Leave a comment

When I bake something I usually keep my coworkers in mind because they are the ones who get to enjoy most of my baked goods since neither my hubby or I are big into sweets.  I like them, but I don’t want mass quantities around the house, yet I LOVE to bake.  I know my coworkers really like a good chocolate cake and this one has been on my list to make for awhile now.  I know it’s already all over the blog world so it’s not new or original but I needed a good “go to” chocolate cake recipe and I think I have now found it!  I think you could get creative with this one and add different fillings, icings, toppings, etc.

Recipe from Hershey’s website

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup boiling water

Icing Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine
    2/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
    3 cups powdered sugar
    1/3 cup milk
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Cake Directions:
1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans.

2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour batter into prepared pans.

3. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely. Frost with “PERFECTLY CHOCOLATE” CHOCOLATE FROSTING. 10 to 12 servings.

Icing Directions

Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency. Add small amount additional milk, if needed. Stir in vanilla. About 2 cups frosting.

Pig Rating:  So at first the Pig was saying this was “good but nothing special”.  But then in the past 24 hours he has eaten 1/4 of the cake.  Hm.  Really?  Nothing special?  😉

Mrs. Pig Rating:  This is a VERY good chocolate cake recipe.  This will be my “go to” from now on for chocolate cakes and cupcakes.  Very moist and the icing is super yummy also.

Mrs. Pig Coworker Rating:  They were fighting over it and one CW was making threats over it.  Enough said.  🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

