Vanilla Pudding Cinnamon Rolls w/Cream Cheese Icing

March 9, 2009 at 11:07 pm | Posted in bread, Breakfast, Cinnamon, Dessert | 4 Comments

So, I’ve said before, I’m not a huge “sweets” person.  If you give me the choice between a brownie and a plate of french fries, I’m going for the fries.  Salty is my thing.  However, I saw this recipe not too long ago on My Kitchen Cafe’s blog and it looked amazing.  I love cinnamon rolls – I always have!  I don’t eat them often at all.  In fact, before yesterday I probably hadn’t had one in years, but I really wanted to make these.  Everyone loves a good cinnamon roll!  I was a little nervous because baking with yeast scares me.  It shouldn’t, but it does.  You just never know how it is going to go, yet if that one little inredient doesn’t work, then the recipe is screwed.  These didn’t rise QUITE as much as I would have liked but they still did rise and they were so pretty when they came out of the oven!

Ingredients

Rolls:
½ cup warm water
2 tablespoons active dry yeast
2 tablespoons sugar
3 ½ ounce package instant vanilla pudding
½ cup butter, melted
2 eggs
1 teaspoon salt
6+ cups flour

Filling:
1 cup butter, softened to room temperature
2 cups brown sugar
4 teaspoons cinnamon

Frosting:
8 ounces cream cheese
½ cup butter, softened to room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups confectioner’s sugar
2-3 tablespoons milk
Directions

In a small bowl combine water, yeast and sugar. Stir until dissolved. Set aside. In large bowl, take pudding mix and prepare according to package directions. Add butter, eggs and salt. Mix well. Then add yeast mixture. Blend. Gradually add flour; knead until smooth. Do not overflour the dough! It should be very soft but not sticky. Place in a greased bowl. Cover and let rise until doubled. Then roll out on floured board to 34 X 21 inches in size. Take 1 cup soft butter and spread over surface. In bowl, mix 2 cups brown sugar and 4 teaspoons cinnamon. Sprinkle over the top. Roll up very tightly. With knife put a notch every 1 1/2 inches. Cut with thread or serrated knife. Place on lightly greased cookie sheet 1 inch apart. Cover and let rise until double again. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Remove when they start to turn golden (don’t overbake). Frost warm rolls with cream cheese frosting (combine butter and cream cheese and mix well, then add vanilla and sugar and mix again, then add milk for desired consistency). Makes about 24 very large rolls.

Pig Rating:  The Pig isn’t a huge “sweets” person either so I was surprised he even wanted one but he loved it!  He said it was awesome – he had one for dessert last night even after the initial “trying the baked good”. 

Mrs. Pig Rating:  If you like cinnamon rolls, then you HAVE to make these.  They are a little work and lots of clean up (well, I’m messy…) but so worth it!  Warm them up in the microwave and they are perfection!!!

 

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m drooling right now! I must make these!

  2. This reminds me of a recipe I tried a year or so ago when I was still allowed gluten. I do remember liking the texture that the pudding provided. My all time fav cinnamon roll type thing (other than cinnabon) is Lorena’s cinnamon braid. It’s even better than cinnamon rolls.

  3. These look fabulous! This post just got a star until I get a chance to make them. 🙂 Glad to see you posting again!

  4. Wow…those look absolutely fantastic. Where’s my fork? I need one now!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

