Cookies and Cream Cupcakes & Buttercream Frosting

January 31, 2009 at 10:45 pm | Posted in chocolate, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert | 7 Comments

I received a lot of fabulous Christmas gifts that were related to my love of cooking and baking – a dutch oven, new set of whisks, cheese slicer, Kitchen Aid stand mixer, square grill pan..just a ton of goodies.  I received two cookbooks that I am so excited that I finally have the time to start looking through – the Cooking Light 2008 cookbook and the Cupcakes from the Cake Doctor. 

I know some of my friends (Nikki…) are so opposed to using boxed cake mixes in things so they pretty much boycott anything having to do with people like the “Cake Doctor”.  I am not like that.  Yes, it’s better most of the time to make from scratch, and most of the time I do.  However.  My life is busy.  I am gone from 7:45 – 5:30 every day at work.  I cook a full meal every night.  I am a neat freak so I’m constantly cleaning.  Add in family obligations, our social life, my charity group, and that doesn’t even begin to touch on the kids activities – sports, homework, programs, etc.  It’s busy.  Yet, I love to bake.  So, sometimes I need a little help to make things easier. 

I have been through my Cupcake Doctor book now and tagged, oh, somewhere around 30 recipes I’m dying to try.  The first on my list were Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with her Buttercream Frosting.

Recipe from the “Cupcakes from the Cake Doctor” book; picture from me

CUPCAKES

Ingredients

30 Oreo cookies (don’t use double stuffed, but you can use mint, etc.)

1 package (18.25 oz) plain white cake mix

1 cup sour cream (I used light)

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 24 cupcake cups with paper liners.  Set aside.

Count out 12 Oreos and seperate the top and bottom wafers.  Make sure each has some of the icing on it.  Place one wafer, icing side up, in the bottom of each paper liner.  Place the remaining 18 Oreos in a large Ziplock bag and crush them.

Place the cake mix, sour cream, oil, eggs, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl.  Blend with electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds.  Stop the machine and scrape down the sides of the bowl with rubber spatula.  Increase mixer speed to medium and beat 1.5 minutes more scraping down sides again if needed.  Measure out 1.5 cups of the crushed Oreos and fold these into the batter until well incorporated.  Set aside the remaining crushed Oreos for garnish.  Spoon or scoop 1/3 cup batter into each lined cupcake cup, filling it 3/4 way full.  (This makes about 22-24 cupcakes).  Place in the oven.

Bake cupcakes until lightly golden and spring back when pressed with finger, about 18-20 minutes.  Place on wire racks to cool for 5 minutes.  Then lift cupcakes out of pan to cool for 15 minutes before frosting. 

ICING (Buttercream Frosting from Cupcake Doctor)

Ingredients

8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter at room temperature

3 cups confectioners sugar sifted

3-4 tablespoons of milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Place butter in large mixing bowl.  Blend with electric mixer on low speed until fluffy, about 30 seconds.  Stop machine and add confectioners sugar, 3 tablespoons milk, and the vanilla.  Blend with mixer on low speed until the sugar is incorporated.  Increase the speed to medium and beat until light and fluffy, 1 minute or more.  Add up to 1 tablespoon more milk if frosting seems too stiff.

Place heaping tablespoon of frosting on each cupcake and spread it out.  Sprinkle the reserved cookie crumbs over the tops gently pressing them into frosting so that they stick.  Ready to serve!

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I really love Oreos – Oreo Blizzards are one of my huge weaknesses as a matter of fact so I loved these!  They were almost better to me the next day after the frosting set up more.  I didn’t have to add the additional milk to the frosting – if anything it was almost not stiff enough in texture for my liking.  I will definitely make these again – YUM!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. These look wonderful!!! My kids will love these!! I might even do these for my daughter’s birthday party. Very cute 🙂

  2. Ooohhh I am not a cake mix snob (like Nikki) so I might have to give these a whirl! I love Oreos. You like the Cake Dr book? I’ve had it on my amazon wish list for a while but I haven’t had a chance to order yet. Maybe on your rec I’ll give it a go!
    /Clara

  3. OH DELIIIIIIICIOUS looking!

  4. I will def have to make these! We are an oreo fan family!

  5. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  6. i had the cupcake doctor book but lost it… and this was one of my favorite recipies, im so happy i found it on your website!

  7. I’ve usually found that with cake doctor frosting it’s usually better to let it sit for a few minutes in the fridge before frosting the cupcakes. Another trick is to add some more con. sugar, but I always worry about making the frosting too sugary.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

