Chicken Tikka Masala

December 4, 2008 at 2:13 am | Posted in Chicken, rice | 5 Comments

So, I think I’ve mentioned before that I used to be quite the picky eater.  If you would have tried to get me to try Indian food 4 years ago I would have turned my nose up and ordered Papa John’s.  My husband has slowly but surely gotten me to try several different foods and ::gasp:: I actually like some of them!  We went to an Indian restaurant in our city sometime last year and it was pretty good.  I saw this recipe on one of my fave blogs My Kitchen Cafe so I decided to give it a shot.

(I fear this looks like some sick dog food concoction so sorry about that…Ha!)

Recipe from My Kitchen Cafe

1 cup plain yogurt
1 tablespoons lemon juice
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons cayenne pepper (Kylie substitutes paprika for the cayenne – next time I’ll do that or cut it down to 1/2 teaspoon)
2 teaspoons black pepper
1 tablespoons minced fresh ginger (I didn’t have this on hand so I left it out)
1 teaspoon salt
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Combine all ingredients except chicken. Pour sauce over chicken and refrigerate for one hour. Grill or cook chicken in frying pan. Discard marinade

1 tablespoon butter
1 clove garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper finely chopped
2 teaspoons ground cumin
2 teaspoons paprika
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 8-oz can tomato sauce
1 cup cream
1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Melt butter in large skillet over medium heat. Saute garlic and jalapeno for one minute. Season with cumin, paprika and salt. Stir in tomato sauce and cream. Simmer on low heat until sauce thickens, about 20 minutes. Add grilled chicken and simmer for 10 minutes. Garnish with fresh cilantro. Serve over hot rice.

PIg Rating:  The Pig really liked this dish.  He definitely wants me to make it again.  YAY!

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I was unsure of what I would think about this, but it actually turned out to be really yummy.  This is a really filling recipe though – I would say that the recipe as written makes about 4 servings.  We had a lot of leftovers.  Definitely keeping this in the dinner binder!

 

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ohhh i love indian food! I’ll definitely need to give this a try

  2. B LOVES Indian food and we always have to try a new restaurant buffet if we see it. But I haven’t found an acceptable version of this recipe to use at home. I will definitely try this one to see if it passes inspection.

  3. LOL @ dog food reference. I don’t care! I am so making it anyways. HAHA. Glad you and Pig enjoyed it!
    /Clara

  4. Nikki – definitely try it! It’s pretty easy and yummy!

    Dawn – Give it a shot – I’m not sure if it will pass inspection, but it’s good anyway 🙂

    Clara – Well, I mean it does right?! Make it anyway. I have a lot to learn on taking pics of food but don’t let that deter you. LOL

  5. I absolutely love Indian Food. I am going to give it a shot this weekend.
    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

