“Citi’s Chicken”

November 10, 2008 at 4:40 pm | Posted in Chicken | 3 Comments

I haven’t blogged in awhile but don’t worry, I’m still cooking.  Just procrastinating along the way.  🙂  As you know, I adore Katie’s blog Good Things Catered. She has so many awesome recipes for dinner, desserts, etc.  I saw this chicken recipe awhile ago and I’ve been dying to make it so I did about a week ago.  Thanks for sharing this family recipe Katie!!!  I am not used to cooking with thighs and legs – I am much more of a boneless, skinless breast type person but since Tommy actually likes the other parts, I did it for this recipe. 

From Katie’s Blog:

Ingredients:
6 chicken thighs
6 chicken drumsticks ( I cooked a breast for myself)
1 egg
1 c. yogurt
1/8 c. olive oil
1/4 c. white wine (of chicken stock if you don’t use alch.)
2 tsp salt (I love Lawry’s garlic salt for this)
2 tsp freshly ground pepper
1/4 c. flour
3 c. cornflakes
1 1/2 c. oatmeal
2 garlic cloves
1 tsp fresh rosemary
1/2 tsp fresh thyme
1 tsp fresh oregano

Directions:
-Clean and pat dry chicken pieces.
-Place chicken into a large freezer bag.
-In a blender, combine egg, yogurt, olive oil, wine/stock, salt and pepper and blend on high to whip together.
-Pour mixture over chicken and seal bag.
-Make sure marinade is covering all pieces and sides of chicken and place in fridge to marinade.
-Marinade chicken at least one hour and up to 24.
-Preheat even to 400 degrees.
-In bowl of food processor, combine remaining ingredients and pulse to a coarse meal, cutting the spices into the breading.
-Remove from bowl of food processor and place in a shallow dish or wide-bottomed bowl.
-Line a baking sheet with heavy duty tinfoil and top with wire baking rack.
-Remove chicken from fridge and with a set of tongs, pull one piece of chicken out of the marinade, shake to remove excess and dredge in breading mixture.
-Cover completely in breading mixture, shaking lightly to remove excess, and place on wire rack.
-Repeat with all pieces of chicken.
-Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees and place baking sheet in oven.
-Bake until internal temperature reaches 170 degrees, about 50-60 minutes.

Pig Rating:  The Pig was excited to have thighs and legs!  LOL  He thought this was a pretty good recipe.  He doesn’t like crispy outside as much as myself, but he did really like this.  He even ate the leftovers for lunch a couple of days.  : )

Mrs. PIg Rating:  This was super yummy!  I love the idea of “fried” chicken without it being fried and that is kind of how this was.  It was so crispy and juicy and I love that I could marinate it the day before then just fix it the next night for dinner.  Mmm….

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am totally with T. Give me the thighs and drumsticks. What can I say? My hubs is a breast man. HAHA
    /Clara

  2. HA! I am a breast woman – I can’t stand the other parts. Ick. 🙂

  3. Oh yay!!! I’m so glad you liked it!! I usually dislike these cuts of chicken, but I’ve always been a sucker for my Citi’s chicken! So happy you like it!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

