Italian Baked Chicken and Pastina

October 27, 2008 at 11:23 pm | Posted in Chicken, pasta | 4 Comments

One of my favorite chefs on the Food Network is Giada.  I adore her!  All of her food always sounds so yummy to me.  I love Italian food so I love her stuff.  I have been wanting to make this Italian Baked chicken and pastina for quite some time but kept forgetting about it.  I wanted something kind of easy for a Friday night dinner that I thought the kids would like, or at the very least try so I thought this looked like a good candidate.  One of their favorites is baked ziti and this was similar enough I thought. 

Recipe from Food Network

Ingredients

1 cup pastina pasta (or any small pasta – I used wheels)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup cubed chicken breast (1-inch cubes)
1/2 cup diced onion (about 1/2 a small onion)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice
1 cup shredded mozzarella
1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup grated Parmesan
1 tablespoon butter, plus more for buttering the baking dish

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Bring a medium pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the pasta and cook until just tender, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Drain pasta into a large mixing bowl.

Meanwhile, put the olive oil in a medium saute pan over medium heat. Add the chicken and cook for 3 minutes. Add the onions and garlic, stirring to combine, and cook until the onions are soft and the chicken is cooked through, about 5 minutes more. Put the chicken mixture into the bowl with the cooked pasta. Add the canned tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, parsley, salt, and pepper. Stir to combine. Place the mixture in a buttered 8 by 8 by 2-inch baking dish. In a small bowl mix together the bread crumbs and the Parmesan cheese. Sprinkle over the top of the pasta mixture. Dot the top with small bits of butter. Bake until the top is golden brown, about 30 minutes

Pig Rating:  The Pig thought this one was pretty good but he says he likes the baked ziti way better.  He said it reminded him of goulash – is that how you spell that?!  I am not even sure what that is…

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I really enjoyed this one.  It was light for a pasta dish and I will definitely make this again when the Pig is traveling.  I think it will make great leftovers as well!

Little Pig Ratings:  The little  pigs at least tried this which is what I want them to do – try everything.  Sheridan liked it okay but she didn’t like the chicke and tomatoes.  She basically ate the pasta.  LOL  The  littlest pig just ate salad.  He wasn’t a fan.  Bah. 

 

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ooooh! That looks so comforting and delicious!

  2. Katie – it was sooo good! I am in such a comfort food mood lately and this one hit the spot for me.

  3. My wife and I would dig this! I will have to try it! Our members would love this site!

    Andrew

    http://cook-italian.com

  4. WOW…this looks so GOOD!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

