Kids Night: Healthy(ish) chicken strips and fries

October 23, 2008 at 12:51 am | Posted in Chicken, kids, potatoes, Yummy Veggies | 1 Comment

I admit it.  When I was a kid, I was super picky when it came to food.  If you ask my mom, she will tell you that I ate nothing but Chef Boyardee pizzas (does anyone make those anymore?!), spaghettios, and maybe the occasional hot dog.  So I really shouldn’t be surprised that our kids are picky either- they are (almost)5 and 8 after all. 

I really try hard to make sure that the kids have healthy eating habits while at our house.  We eat healthy most of the time so I want to pass that on to them.  When they want snacks, the things available are apple slices, bananas, nuts, healthy granola bars, and for a real treat, a 100 calorie pack or something like Chips Ahoy.  Brutal?  Nah.  They are so used to it that they like the healthy snacks.  I just don’t keep other things in the house.  When it comes to dinners, it’s more of a challenge.  Most of the things that Tommy and I eat, the kids wouldn’t really like.  I have managed to find some favorites that we use in our rotation though that everyone likes and I’ve even managed to make them as healthy as possible.  Our favorites include Baked Ziti (I use whole wheat pasta & ground turkey), tacos (I use ground turkey, my homemade seasoning, and lots of veggies), breakfast for dinner (put lots of egg whites in the scrambled eggs, low sodium bacon, and whole grain bread), and homemade chicken strips and fries, which is the recipe I am about to post. Kids love chicken strips and fries, plain and simple.  And you know what?  So do I!  I tried to find a way to make them healthier than just buying them frozen.  I rarely buy anything frozen so I definitely didnt’ want to start with these.  I finally found a recipe that made them much healthier than other options and everyone loves them!

Recipe from www.aplaceofourown.org

Ingredients

1/4 cup seasoned fine bread crumbs
1 tablespoon paprika
1 tablespoon garlic powder
4 skinless boneless chicken breasts, sliced in half lengthwise
1 cup egg substitute
Non-stick cooking spray

Directions

Preheat oven 450 degrees F.
Combine 1/4 cup of seasoned fine bread crumbs, 1 tablespoon of paprika, and 1 tablespoon of garlic powder into a shallow dish.
Dip each chicken strip in 1 cup of egg substitute and then roll the chicken strip in the bread crumb mixture.
Arrange the chicken strips on a sheet pan coated with non-stick cooking spray.
Bake the chicken strips for 35 to 45 minutes, or until cooked through. Serve and enjoy.

I cook these up and serve them with a side of fries (I cut up potatoes into strips, put a little olive oil and a dash of salt on them and bake them to make them healthier), and fruit (usually apple slices).

Mrs. Pig Rating:  This is a yummy quick workweek meal for when the kids are here.  I like those kind!  And I like that I can find ways to make foods healthier for my family. 

Pig Rating:  The pig really likes this meal as well!  He loves potatoes so his favorite part is the fries even though they aren’t fried, he still loves them.

Little Pigs Rating:  The little pigs like this one a lot!  Well, sometimes Will decides he doesn’t like it and wants a bowl of salad instead (yes, he would pretty much rather have salad than anything right now).  Sheridan really likes this though!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Excellent web site. A lot of helpful info here. I’m sending it to a few buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks in your effort!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

