My First “Dinner Party”

October 13, 2008 at 12:56 am | Posted in appetizer, Cakes, Cheese, Dessert, Fun, Menus, pasta, pizza, wine | 11 Comments

I use the term “dinner party” loosely because really it was me and two of my awesome co-workers who also happen to be very good friends of mine.  I decided I wanted to have them over for dinner so we turned it into a fun event – we all dressed up and made it a true “girls night” and had waaaaaay too much to drink.  And by that I mean that I had a bottle and a half of wine.  On a Thursday night.  I felt miserable on Friday.  Stupid, stupid.  HOwever, we had an absolute blast!!!  We are already planning our next one – Asian inspired food with a prom night theme…HA!

Here was my menu:

Appetizers:

Bruschetta with Fresh Marinated Mozzarella

Garlic Bread
Port Wine Cheese Ball with crackers

Dinner:
Stuffed Shells
Angel Hair Pasta with Fresh Pesto (recipe to follow)
Margherita Pizza (recipe to follow)

Dessert:
Chocolate Lasagna
Assorted Milano cookies (I couldn’t help it…I adore them!!!)

Drinks:

Gewurtztraminer
Pinot Grigio
Shiraz

 

Oh yeah, did I mention that I wore my wedding dress?  Yeah, I drink wine in it often so I decided it would be a riot to answer the door in it with an apron on.  My friends loved it!  HA!  That’s right.  I’m insane.  You know you love me.  : )

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You look beautiful in your dress — especially with the cute apron! I want to put my dress on…but I am scared….I hope I still fit into it! LOL…

  2. BAHAHAHA. That is so fabulous! Hawt beech in the kitchen! 😉 ps. that menu sounds so goood. Me wanty.
    /Clara

  3. OMG that’s brilliant! I wish I could get into my wedding dress by myself (or at all these days)!

  4. So funny April! Is it bad that I didn’t think it odd for you to wear your wedding dress? lol. Dinner looks delicious too.

  5. LOL!!! I LOVE IT!! When can I come over?? 🙂

  6. CB: Come on over, I’ll make it for you!!!

    Julie: LOL Brilliant. Hm, not exactly the word my brother used when he saw this picture. I think he thought I had finally lost it… LOL

    Nina: HA! Nah, guess it just means you know I’m fun and eccentric. LOL

    Katie: You are welcome at my house ANYTIME only if you return the favor-I want some of your fab food!

  7. April, this is awesome!

    Ps. I heart Yellow Tail Shiraz. Well any Yellow Tail…it’s a staple in my house.

  8. HA! Thanks Jamie. 🙂 I adore it as well. Good and cheap!

  9. Gorgeous dress! And I love that you cooked in it. Too cute!

  10. OMG I have the same wedding dress and you make me want to get mine out and drink wine in it!!

  11. This looks like it was a blast! Great looking menu and I love the wedding dress! lol


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

