Best Pumpkin Bread Ever

October 7, 2008 at 2:06 pm | Posted in bread, Muffins, Pumpkin | 10 Comments

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.  I LOVE LOVE fall baking.  I love apple and pumpkin things the most.  I have been wanting to find a really good pumpkin bread recipe and I found this one on allrecipes.com and had great reviews so I gave it a shot.  This recipe as it reads makes enough for a normal size loaf of bread as well as about 12 muffins.  This was perfect timing because my best friend had her wedding this past weekend so I took the muffins for our getting ready Saturday morning breakfast. 

Recipe from www.allrecipes.com; picture from my kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour three 7×3 inch loaf pans.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, water and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans.
  3. Bake for about 50 minutes in the preheated oven. Loaves are done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Mrs. Pig Rating:  This is THE best pumpkin bread I have ever made.  It is so moist you will not believe it.  And it tastes so good in muffin form.  Make this recipe – you will NOT be disappointed!!!!

Mrs. Pig Co-Worker’s Rating:  My co-workers really liked this one as well.  They kept talking about how moist it was.  : ) 

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OH YUM! That looks SOOO fab!

  2. Katie – thanks!! It is so yummy. I highly recommend it!

  3. I love fall baking tooooo. Now bring me some pumpkin bread I’m hungry beech

  4. As long as its not banana bread in disguise (someone tricked me like that before) I’ll try it! LOL
    /Clara

  5. I can’t wait to try this – hopefully I’ll bake tonight!

  6. Wow, that looks delicious! 😀

  7. Clara – HA! I would never do that to you. I don’t like gagging noises and I know that is what I would hear.

    Alanna – Make it! It’s fab!! 🙂

  8. I was going to try this and then noticed the THREE cups of sugar. No wonder it is good! With that much sugar, as well as a hefty load of flour, I think it will be easier to just find a recipe already converted for me. All these substitutions sure get disheartening sometimes though!

  9. Mmm this looks delicious! Fall is definitely the best time for baking.

  10. […] used this pumpkin bread recipe for the muffins and this icing recipe for the homemade vanilla bean cream cheese icing.  I figured […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

