Spicy Garlic Herbed Pasta

October 6, 2008 at 2:26 am | Posted in Chicken, pasta | 1 Comment

I saw this recipe on Katie’s blog (I know, surprise…I am obsessed with her blog, what can I say?!  She knows I’m not stalking her, it’s okay…HA!) and I knew I wanted to try it.  I originally was going to try it as a side dish to a chicken recipe but I then decided to try to mix chicken in with is somehow.  So I kind of just added to this recipe.  I made the pasta just as Katie’s blog says to, but I added some chicken.  Basically all I did was cut up chicken breast into chunks and cook them in the exact same oils, herbs, etc. as the pasta was cooked in, then I mixed the chicken chunks with the pasta for a meal. 

From Katie’s Blog:

Ingredients:
1 lb pasta of choice (I used rotini)
2 tsp olive oil
5 large garlic cloves, minced or pressed
1/2 tsp dried hot red-pepper flakes
1/2 c. dry white wine
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
5 Tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 c. fresh flat-leaf parsley, minced
1/8 c. fresh thyme, minced
juice 1/2 lemon

Directions:
-Bring a 6- to 8-quart pot of salted water to a boil.
-Cook pasta in boiling water until just tender, according to package instructions.
-Reserve 1 c. pasta-cooking water, then drain pasta in a colander.
-Meanwhile, heat oil in a 12-inch heavy skillet over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking.
-Add garlic to skillet and cook until beginning to brown, about 1 minute.
-Add red pepper flakes, wine, salt, and pepper and cook over high heat, stirring occasionally, 1 minute.
-Add butter to skillet, stirring until melted, and stir in herbs and lemon juice.
-Remove skillet from heat.
-Toss pasta well in large bowl, adding some of reserved cooking water if necessary to keep moist.

Pig Rating:  The pig wasn’t a HUGE fan of this, but he isn’t normally a fan of pasta without a cream sauce.  He isn’t as concerned about bathing suits and jeans looking good as me apparently!  HA! 

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I really enjoyed this one.  Adding the chicken really made this a yummy dish!  One note – I wouldn’t add the red pepper flakes to the chicken mixture – it was REALLY spice having it in both that and the pasta!  : )  I will definitely make this again for me – likely when Tommy is traveling sometime!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OH YUM!!! We’ve added chicken to it before too. DH LOVES this simple little recipe. Glad you guys liked it too! 🙂 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

