Penne and Chicken Tenderloins with Spiced Tomato Sauce

September 24, 2008 at 2:07 pm | Posted in Chicken, pasta | 1 Comment

My lovely friend Cheyenne reminded me that it’s been awhile since I updated my blog so I figured that I had better oblige her a bit here.  : )  I made this a couple of weeks ago but am just now getting around to posting it.  But never fear…fall baking season is upon us and I have tons of recipes printed out to start baking this weekend.  I love fall baking – pumpkin, apples…mmm….I can’t wait!  I will also be hosting a very small dinner party (think 3 people) in about two weeks so lots of yummy recipes will come out of that as well. 

This is a Cooking Light recipe – I’ve been really trying to utilize their website lately for dinner recipes since we are always trying to find yummy, healthy things.  Pasta and chicken are nearly always winners in my book! 

From:  Cooking Light, April 2006

Picture from my kitchen (did the lack of natural light give it away?!  LOL)

Ingredients (I halved everything as it was just Tommy and I)

  • 1  teaspoon  ground fennel seed
  • 1  teaspoon  dried basil
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  ground coriander
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1  pound  chicken breast tenders, cut into (1-inch) pieces (I used grilled chicken breast instead of breast tenders)
  • 1  tablespoon  olive oil
  • 4  garlic cloves, minced
  • 4  cups  canned diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1  cup  white wine
  • 8  ounces  uncooked penne (I used wheat pasta)
  • 1/4  cup  (1 ounce) freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 1/4  cup  chopped fresh basil

Preparation

 

Combine first 5 ingredients in a small bowl; rub over chicken.

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 4 minutes, turning once. Remove from heat; set aside.

Reduce heat to medium. Add garlic; sauté 30 seconds or until garlic is soft. Add tomatoes and wine, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes. Add chicken, and simmer 5 minutes.

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain. Toss pasta with sauce in a large bowl. Sprinkle with cheese and basil.

Pig Rating:  The pig liked this one.  He said it wasn’t as good as something like baked ziti, but still pretty good for a somewhat healthy pasta recipe.  He ate it the next day too so it must have not been too bad.  : )

Mrs. Pig Rating:  This was pretty yummy!  I will definitely make this again.  Pretty easy and lots of flavor.  Great weeknight dinner recipe!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is it bad that I am happy you live in a cave too? LOL. You know I am starring this one! CL and pasta? Perfecto!
    /Clara


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

