Malted Milk Ball Cake

September 16, 2008 at 10:58 pm | Posted in Cakes, chocolate, Fun | Leave a comment

My mom’s birthday was last week and Friday night we had a family dinner/birthday party for her at our house.  I cooked Mexican food, we had margaritas and I baked this cake.  I knew I wanted to make her a cake but I didn’t know what kind.  I also didn’t know when I would have time to do it.  I barely had time to breathe last week.  One of her favorite candies is malted milk balls aka Whoppers.  I started looking for cakes using Whoppers and I found this awesome, easy recipe!  Beware:  If you are a cake mix nazi, turn the other way.  I couldn’t help it last week people.  Apparently this is the official recipe of All Star Cafe, but I’m not even sure what that is so we’ll just go with it.  : )

Recipe from: www.razzledazzlerecipes.com

Ingredients

1 (18.25 ounce) box white cake mix
1/2 cup chocolate malt powder or Ovaltine
1 cup chopped malted milk balls

Icing
2 cups fudge icing
1/4 cup chocolate malt powder

Garnish
Malted milk balls

Directions

Make cake according to directions on the box, adding the malt powder at the same time as the dry mix. When the batter has been placed into the greased cake pans, sprinkle the chopped malted milk balls evenly over the batter. Bake according to directions on the box. (I used two round cake pans so that I could make a double layer cake)

When the cake is cool, mix malt powder with fudge icing and frost.

Serve with ice cream and malted milk balls

This was the end result after we all dove into it:

Pig Rating:  The Pig is on a healthy kick right now so he only had a bite of my slice but he said it was really good.

Mrs. Pig Rating:  This cake is so freaking good.  It’s the right amount of chocolate, it was moist, and all around a super yummy cake. 

Mrs. Pig’s Momma’s rating:  My mom loved this cake!  She said it was her second best birthday cake ever.  I can’t compare to her first bakery cake as a child, but hey, I’ll take it!!  : )

Co-Workers rating:  I had so much leftover that I took it to work.  The first co-worker who took a bite loudly professed to everyone in the office that it tasted like poison so that they would stay away from it – more for her!  They loved it!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

