Sweet Potato Garlic Fries

September 15, 2008 at 1:34 am | Posted in potatoes, Yummy Veggies | 3 Comments

You have probably wondered what I have been feeding my family since I haven’t blogged in so long.  Don’t worry – they haven’t been out scouring for berries in the woods, nor have they been eating fast food every night.  I have just been so busy that I’ve been cooking the same things over and over.  Until now.  Last weekend Tommy and I went to New York to visit my good friends Kat and Andrea and Kat happens to be a personal trainer and nutritionist.  We sat down with her and found many new awesome ideas for things to eat and routines to start trying as far as food and exercise.  This really made me want to get back into cooking new things every week, especially healthy things!  I found this great recipe on one of my go-to blogs, Good Things Catered.  Kat had mentioned that sweet potatoes would be something good to throw in every now and again so here we go.  Neither Tommy or I are HUGE sweet potato fans but I wanted to try them just for something different.

Yes, my camera sucks.  We are on the lookout for a new one currently.  Ugh.  Ignore the ugly pic.  I figure an ugly pic is better than NO pic.  : )

This recipe is from Good Things Catered:

Ingredients:
5 large red-skinned sweet potatoes (yams)
2 Tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
2 Tbsp kosher salt
5 large garlic cloves, minced or pressed
1/8 c. flat leaf parsley, minced

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 500 degrees and line 2 baking sheets.
-Wash and dry sweet potatoes (leaving skin on) and slice into 1/8 inch thick wedges.
-Place into large bowl and combine with olive oil and a generous sprinkling of salt and pepper.
-Lay out sweet potato wedges on baking sheets, dividing evenly between them, and place in oven.
-Bake for 30 minutes, turning occasionally, or until edges begin to brown and wedges are tender.
-Remove from oven, sprinkle evenly with salt, garlic, parsley, and serve immediately.

Pig Rating:  The pig was not a huge fan of these.  He didn’t like the sweet/salty combo. 

Mrs. Pig Rating:  These were just okay for me.  I think it’s because I am not a huge sweet potato fan.  If you are, then these are good though!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmmm love me some fries. I am not a sweet potato fan but now I am craving fries… Darn you! Might have to try this recipe with a regular potato though. Kinda defeats the healthy purpose but whatev… HAHA!

  2. I make something similar and it is just about the only way I can tolerate sweet potatoes (which I also need to include in my diet). This recipe is from my MiL nonetheless! Mine are just the potatoes cut into fries or chips, then washed with egg white and sprinkled with salt. Bake at 375 until potatoes will “let go” of the baking sheet…flip them, and then bake another few minutes to crisp the second side. I like slicing the potato as thin as possible so they cook faster and get more crispy. I tried putting seasoning on them once, but didn’t like having any extra flavors competing with the sweet. Just salt was enough for me.

  3. Clara – Yup, probably defeats the healthy purpose. 🙂 I do a “healthy” fry recipe sometimes though.

    Dawn – that sounds yummy and similar to this. I might try them again and get them really cripsy next time like you mention.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

