Angel Hair Pasta Salad

August 25, 2008 at 11:54 pm | Posted in pasta, salads, Yummy Veggies | 2 Comments

I cannot tell you how much I adore the blog of My Kitchen Cafe.  She always has such great, tried and true recipes and she has kids which helps me out a lot as I’m always looking for variety for my little picky ones.  : )  However, tonight, my husband is traveling and I am home alone so I picked something that no one in the house would like other than me!  Fun to do that every now and again!

Copied from My Kitchen Cafe (I halved this since it is just me – that is enough for dinner tonight and lunch tomorrow just to give you an idea of how much this one makes)

Ingredients

1 pound angel hair pasta (I used wheat angel hair)
1/2 cup olive oil
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups parmesan cheese (I used light)
2-3 fresh tomatoes, seeded and diced
handful of fresh basil leaves, torn into small pieces
1 4 oz. package pine nuts, lightly toasted (you can do this over medium-low heat in a non-stick skillet) (I omitted these…just forgot to buy them)
Coarse salt

Directions

Boil water for pasta. When water starts boiling, add a handful of rock salt (i.e. ice cream salt). Add pasta and cook until al dente, about 4 minutes. Drain pasta and place in serving bowl. While pasta is boiling, saute garlic in olive oil until sizzling and lightly browned (don’t burn the garlic or it will taste bitter). Pour garlic and olive oil over warm pasta and toss. Sprinkle a teaspoon or so (to taste) of coarse salt over the noodles and add 1 cup of the parmesan cheese. Toss again. Let noodles cool slightly. Right before serving, top noodles with diced tomatoes, pine nuts, torn basil and 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese. Very lightly toss, being careful not to let all the toppings go to the bottom. Serve.

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I am pretty sure that I could eat this until I was sick.  Oh wait.  I think I just did.  Seriously, this is really easy and really great.  I halved the recipe for just me but I think I would put in the full amount of tomatoes, but that is just me.  I love tomatoes.  I used on the vine for the recipe.  I will be making this one over and over again.  Make this.  NOW.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. YUMMERS.

    Honestly yummers isnt as expressive as YUMMO sometimes. Ya know? Hopefully Nikki doesn’t see this comment. LOL.

  2. Yum! I’m making this tonight!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

