Happy Birthday to Me!

July 30, 2008 at 12:55 am | Posted in Cakes, chocolate, Cupcakes, Fun, kids | 8 Comments

Happy birthday to me…happy birthday to me…happy birthday dear April…happy birthday to me!  : )   This past weekend was my ::gasp:: 27th birthday.  I am not quite sure what I think about that yet mentally speaking.  However, my family and friends made sure that I enjoyed my birthday no matter what age I was.  : )

On Friday night, Tommy, the kids, some friends of ours and their kids went to our favorite Mexican restaurant for great food and margaritas.  I even wore a cute dress – it’s my birthday – I’ll do what I want!!  LOL  Saturday morning was the big surprise though.  As you know if you have been reading my blog for any amount of time, breakfast is huge in our house.  Saturday morning I woke up around 8am and though, “Crap.  I need to get up.  Everyone will be wanting breakfast.”  I stumbled into the kitchen only to be told by Tommy and the kids to go back to bed and relax, it was my birthday.  Um, okay.  I cannot argue with that!  I went back to bed and read for a bit until the kids came and got me.  They walked me into the kitchen to….my surprise birthday breakfast!!!  They had blown up lots of balloons, put up a birthday banner, had birthday plates and napkins and had cooked breakfast for me!!!  Hash browns, scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, and OJ!  My favorite!  I cannot tell you how excited this made me for several reasons.  1) My husband is fantastic  : )  2) I bet not all stepmom’s get this kind of birthday and feel this loved and 3) I didn’t have to cook OR clean up breakfast!!!!  I cannot believe that I didn’t take pictures, but trust me, it was awesome.  : )

Sunday we went to my mom’s house where we had lunch and cupcakes.  The cupcakes were chocolate and were SUPER messy but so good!  Will and I had good messy fun eating them – doesn’t he look SO scary?! 

And I had chocolate all over my teeth and my hands so the kids thought it was hilarious because I do NOT like to be dirty.  LOL

Monday was my actual birthday and I was kind of bummed because I had to work on my birthday.  But when I arrived at work to see this on my desk:

I was so excited!  My friend Lindsay baked me these.  She does NOT cook or bake.  Period.  So the fact that she spent time making cupcakes and working with fondant meant the world to me.  I saw these awhile ago on my awesome friend Clara’s blog and I loved them and Lindsay remembered that.  And they were yummy too!!!

Overall I had a fantastic birthday!  I couldn’t ask for anything more.

PS – these pictures were taken with my new fab 3G Iphone that Tommy bought me for my birthday. Jealous aren’t you?!  : )

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dude, I LOVE that shirt. I need it. Stat.

  2. Get it! It’s from Delia’s.

  3. Looks like you had so much fun! Keep the BU’s coming. 🙂 (I know, I’m really one to talk, lol)

  4. Nina – We did have fun! I’ll try. LOL 🙂 So busy during the summer!

  5. Will looks like a little Hulk in that photo. 🙂

    It looks like you had a fantastic birthday, so glad!

  6. Julie – HA! He is super scary right? LOL
    Thanks!

  7. iPhone…what???!?!? Jealous….

    LOVE that picture of Will!

    Happy birthday, April…you deserve it! 🙂

  8. Can someone buy me an iphone so I can be cool too? That picture of Will is awesome! If there’s ever a Hulk Jr. movie you know you must take him to audition. LOL. Happy birthday chicky!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

