Red Velvet Cupcakes w/Vanilla Bean Cream Cheese Frosting

June 10, 2008 at 11:40 pm | Posted in Cakes, Cupcakes, Dessert | 2 Comments

I have somehow become the resident baker in my office for any occasion that comes up.  Luckily for my co-workers, I love to bake when I have time, but I do not want the baked goods in my house so they usually benefit.  Monday was one of my favorite co-workers birthday so before I left for vacation I asked her what her favorite cake was and she said red velvet.  I knew my good friend and all knowing cupcake woman Clara would have a great recipe for this since it is also one of her hubby’s favorites.  She didn’t fail me!  She had a wonderful recipe waiting for me that also included an amazing icing that had one of my new favorite ingredients in it – vanilla beans!  I love opening up the package and smelling that smell…mmm….anyway.  : )  Onto the recipe!!  From Clara’s blog:

Makes about 24 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For cupcakes–
15-1/2 ounces all-purpose flour (about 3-1/4 cups)
1-1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1-1/4 teaspoons salt
1-1/4 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1-1/2 cups vegetable oil
13 ounces granulated sugar (about 2-1/3 cups)
1-1/4 cups buttermilk
3 eggs
2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons red food coloring
1-1/4 teaspoons vinegar (white or apple cider can both work)
1-1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/8 cup water

For frosting–
8oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 vanilla bean, scraped
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 lb (~4 cups) powdered sugar, sifted

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes
Preheat oven 350 degrees F.

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder into a bowl and set aside.

In a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, mix oil, sugar, and buttermilk until combined. Add eggs, food coloring, vinegar, vanilla and water and mix well. Add the dry ingredients a little bit at a time and mix on low, scraping down sides occasionally, and mix until just combined. Be sure not to over mix, or the batter will come out tough.

Line a cupcake pan with paper liners, scoop the batter into the liners and bake at 350 degrees F for 20 to 30 minutes or until the toothpick comes out clean. Let cool.

[NOTES: I baked for about 25 minutes.]

To make frosting
Whip the butter and cream cheese together in a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until creamed. In a separate bowl add the vanilla bean seeds to the powdered sugar and mix until seeds evenly distributed. Gradually add powdered sugar to the butter-cream cheese mixture. Scrape down the bowl as needed.

Pig Rating:  Red velvet is not the pig’s favorite but he said that this was a very good cupcake.  He also said that he really liked the icing!

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I’m with the Pig.  Red Velvet is not my favorite, but this was a really good cupcake – moist, full of flavor and such a pretty red color!  The icing is TO DIE FOR.  I could eat it with a spoon.  All in all, a really yummy cupcake!

Co-Worker rating:  Well, I took in about 40 cupcakes yesterday.  There were about 5 left today.  There are only 6 of us there.  HA!  The birthday girl loved them and even took some home for her son and husband to try.  Everyone loved them!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the red! Isn’t that frosting TODIEFOR?? Forget the cake part, give me the frosting! So glad your CW liked it!

  2. Oh totally. I could eat the frosting off and throw the cupcake away. HA!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

