Congrats to my bubby!

May 26, 2008 at 2:07 pm | Posted in Cookies, Fun, salads | 6 Comments

This past Friday night my “little” brother graduated from high school – I can’t believe he is old enough to graduate!  It makes me feel slightly old.  : )  I am so proud of all that he has already accomplished – last summer he graduated from Basic training and joined the National Guard at age 17.  Although I was not thrilled (to say the least) about that decision at first, I have come to be just a proud big sister rather than one who is thinking, “What is the HELL is he thinking?!”  Congrats to my bubby!!!

On Saturday we held Luke and his friend Dante’s graduation party at a local park.  The weather was perfect and it was such a fun day.  In honor of my newfound love of cooking and baking I offered to bring several things to help my mom out.  One thing I knew that I had to make was sugar cookies – I used my best friend’s recipe of course.  They are the best EVER.  I even used my Wilton cake decorating set and piped words onto them – pretty fancy for me!  HA!  These went like hot cakes as usual when I make them.  They just sooo good!

I also made this bean salad/dip that a friend had made for a Superbowl party.  It is SOOO good.  Don’t be scared by the mixture of a lot of ingredients.  It’s really easy and really good.  I was asked for this recipe by so many people at Luke’s party on Saturday. 

Black Bean Dip Recipe (from The Food Network)

2 cans black beans, drained, about 30 ounces
1 (15-ounce) can corn, drained
2 Roma tomatoes, diced
1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
1/4 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup diced green onions
1/4 cup diced pineapple
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro leaves
1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
4 tablespoons sherry vinegar
Juice of 1/2 lime
3 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoons salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
Pinch ground cumin

 

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate for 1 hour.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Gimme.sugar.cookie.NOW!

    Congrats to bubby on his graduation. They grow up so fast…

  2. HA! Maybe if you are nice, I will send you some next time I make them. 🙂

  3. Aww! Those cookies are so cute!

  4. Thanks Katie! 🙂 I bow to your baking/cooking skills so this means a lot coming from you! 🙂

  5. remittable says : I absolutely agree with this !

  6. The cookies are so cute!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

