Vanilla Nut Martini Cupcakes

May 18, 2008 at 3:23 am | Posted in Cupcakes | 5 Comments

Aren’t cupcakes just happy and fun?  Don’t they remind you of birthday parties and happy events?  They do me.  And you can do so many things with cupcakes as far as flavors and decorating AND they are easy to transport which is a major bonus when everything that you bake goes to your work because you don’t want it in your house.  That is me.  I love looking at my friend Clara’s cupcake blog – she has so many awesome ideas and her picures are so inspiring.  I wish I had the patience and time that she does to make these.  I guess I have the time – just not a priority, but I do like to bake every now and again.  I think I discovered though tonight why I dislike baking all of the time – I HATE the mess.  I have always been a messy baker and cooker – I don’t know why, I just have.  And I hate cleaning up the mess.  Anyway…

I’ve been dying to have some of Alanna’s Vanilla Nut Martini cupcakes that she made awhile back.  She sent me some and they were to die for.  I am not a “sweets” person at all.  But those cupcakes…I think I ate 3 or 4 in one day.  They were amazing.  The icing was the best part.  I decided that I would bake these today and see how it went.  I’ve been wanting to try out my Wilton decorating tips and I thought this would be a good time.  Funny thing is that I had NO idea how to use the icing bags or any of that stuff that came with the set.  Nikki came to my rescue and talked me through it earlier today though.  I still think I have a long way to go as far as how they look.  They don’t look special, but at least I didn’t have any catastrophes.  : )

  

CUPCAKES

Ingredients

2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup butter or margarine
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup Frangelico (I used French Vanilla Kahlua – it was cheaper.  HA!)

Directions

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; set aside. In a large mixing bowl, beat butter and brown sugar until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Alternately add 1/3 of the flour and all of the buttermilk, then 1/3 of the flour and all of the Frangelico, beating well after each addition. Add remaining flour; mix until smooth.Line regular or mini muffin cups with baking papers. Fill each 2/3 full. Bake at 375ºF for 14-16 minutes or until muffins test done. Cool in pans for 5 minutes. Remove and cool completely.

 

 ICING

 Ingredients

3 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup butter or margarine
5 T whipping cream
1 tsp vanilla
vanilla bean

 

 Directions

 Yield: 24 regular or 48 mini cupcakes.

 

Mrs. Pig Rating:  These are DELISH!  I love vanilla so I absolutely adore these cupcakes

 

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. They look delish! I’ve also been wanting to try these for a while. I am hosting a bachelorette party in June… hmmm…

  2. mmmm they look very tasty!

  3. Andrea – these would be great for that! They are so yummy that they are sinful. I am in love with this recipe!

    Nikki – thanks! Thanks for the help on the icing! 🙂

  4. I’m so glad you finally made them!!! Yum….

  5. Ok. I’m totally making these for my next girls’ night in party. You had me at Kahlua. all the nashville women will be blaming me (and you) for our ever-expanding waistlines…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

