Caprese Salad and happy reminders…

May 15, 2008 at 12:06 am | Posted in salads, wine | 8 Comments

I’ll preface this with saying, excuse me while I have a moment to reminisce…I had a crappy day at work.  I deserve it.  : )

As a lot of you know, Tommy and I went to Hawaii on our honeymoon last July.  It was absolutely perfect – we could not have asked for a better trip all the way around.  Hawaii is magical – it was so relaxing, so beautiful, just everything we could have asked for.  We went to the Big Island and Oahu – Big Island was our favorite by far.  We can’t wait to go back!!

While in Hawaii, we ate and drank all sorts of great things – we of course had our Quizno’s stops and such, but we ate at some pretty good restaurants as well.  I think one of the best things about it was that every night for dinner, every day for breakfast, we ate outside.  You can’t just do that here in Indiana – it’s always too humid or too cold or too rainy or too many bugs, etc.  But there…it was perfection.  There is something so relaxing and romantic about eating dinner outside under the stars with your husband while on  your honeymoon….okay, I’ll stop now.  Sheridan tells me all of the time that I’m “too mushy” so…I’ll spare you a bit. 

Back to the point…one of the best dinners that I had while on the Big Island was one random night at a random restaurant where I had a Caprese Salad with a glass (er…or 3 or 4) of fab white wine.  The salad was absolutely excellent.  I have wanted to make Caprese Salad for awhile now but Tommy is not so into tomatoes and salads and such.  So while he is on the other side of the world, I decided to try it.  Such an easy and yummy dinner.  I served it with Organic French bread and of course….wine.  : )

While there isn’t really a set “recipe” per se for Caprese Salad (it’s pretty self explanatory), I did find one so I could post it for those who don’t know what this salad is (a tragedy if not).

Ingredients

3 vine-ripe tomatoes, 1/4-inch thick slices (better if not chilled)
1 pound fresh mozzarella, 1/4-inch thick slices
20 to 30 leaves (about 1 bunch) fresh basil
Extra-virgin olive oil, for drizzling
Coarse salt and pepper

Directions

Layer alternating slices of tomatoes and mozzarella, adding a basil leaf between each, on a large, shallow platter. Drizzle the salad with extra-virgin olive oil and season with salt and pepper, to taste.

This is so delish.  Such a good, light dinner.  Perfect for the summer!!

 

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This salad is to die for!
    Thanks for your information.:)

  2. Soooooo cheesy. Love it. You and Tdog look so cute in the Hawaiian sunset. I’ve never been to Hawaii with my hubs but we’ve both been separately with family. Hopefully someday we’ll get there together. I adore Maui. Now be honest… how many glasses of wine really? LOL. Salad looks delish. Seriously if we were neighbors we’d be eating good all the time – you cook and I bake! 😉

  3. You look so pretty in that pic. I mean let’s be honest, what else is new??? Yummy salad!

  4. MMMM my favorite salad! I love the fact I can see your wine glass in the pict! You look Fabulous!

  5. Snow – it definitely is!!

    Clara – Aw, thanks. I love cheese! Um…probably more like 3-4 glasses of wine. Oops. 🙂

    Andrea – thanks sis!!

    Kat – Thank you! Oh yes…always a wine glass!

  6. Thank you for good information~~*

    Please comeback to visit my blog too : http://about-culinaryarts.blogspot.com/

    I’m sorry , If you think this is spam. but may i thank you again.

    Bye

  7. CUTE dress…..

    and I absolutely LOVE Caprese!!!

  8. Thanks, thanks. 🙂 Charlotte Russe baby!

    Caprese…I could LIVE on it!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

