Recreating my fave Cheesecake Factory salad

May 14, 2008 at 1:25 am | Posted in cheesecake, Chicken, salads | 4 Comments

One of my favorite restaurants is Cheesecake Factory.  I love the food & I adore the cheesecake.  Really.  What is better than that many choices of amazing cheesecake?!  Not much in my book! 

Unfortunately, we do not have one near us – the closest one is about 2.5 hours away.  When we go to a city that has one, we always go even if just for dessert.  We went to Indianapolis two weekends ago to visit my grandpa in the hospital and we got to Indy pretty late but we had to eat.  I of course wanted to go to Cheesecake Factory since it was only about 5 minutes from our hotel.  I knew what I would eat before I even got there.  Cheesecake of course, but I mean for dinner.  : ) (Of course, I had a huge piece of chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake to take back to the hotel too…don’t let me fool you into thinking I ALWAYS eat healthy…)

Their Grilled Chicken Tostada Salad is my absolute fave.  Now, those of you who know Cheesecake Factory know that the portions are enough to feed about 3 people with just one dish.  This salad is no different.  It comes out on a plate in two huge mounds and the size is insane.  Here is the description of the salad from their menu:

Crisp Corn Tortillas Topped with Grilled Marinated Chicken Breast and Black Beans Piled High with Mixed Greens, Fresh Corn, Green Onions and Cilantro All Tossed in Our Vinaigrette and Garnished with Avocado Cream, Salsa and Sour Cream”

You want it now too right??  It’s so incredibly good.  My husband is in Japan for 10 days (ugh) and I always try new veggie dishes while he is out as I am the veggie fan, not him so much.  😛  I decided to try to recreate this dish tonight for dinner.  This was also my first time using avocados in food so I was proud of myself for branching out a bit and making this avocado cream for the topping.

There really isn’t much of a recipe per se for this salad – I just copied it off of their menu basically using all of those ingredients.  This salad was YUMMMMMY!!!!  Of course everything tastes better when you don’t fix it yourself so the Cheesecake Factory version is better, but this is still pretty darn good made at home.  I’ll definitely be making it again!!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. There’s always room for cheeecake! Salad sounds yum (without the beans) so I definitely wanna give this a try. ::adding to my never ending must-cook list::

  2. Looks delicious! I think I’m gonna make this meal when football season gets here and John is gone all the time. 🙂

  3. Clara – yes, always room for cheesecake! I agree completely! What? No beans?! The beans MAKE it!

    Nina – definitely try it. You will love it – so filling and full of flavor!

  4. Looks and sounds great! Jared and I are always looking for new salad recipes!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

