Taco Seasoning

May 12, 2008 at 5:37 pm | Posted in Mexican food, Seasonings & Sauces | 3 Comments

Tacos are a staple in our house – Sheridan decided about a year ago that tacos are her favorite meal.  We all love tacos so I usually try to make them for her once a week.  It’s something I can make semi healthy, yet it’s good and the kids love it.  It’s a win-win!  I had been in the habit of just buying the taco kits at the store and my mom told me awhile back that it’s much healthier to make your own seasoning.  I finally decided to try it about a week ago and it is SO easy and so good!  I’ll never use the packets again.  This is good and it has way less sodium and less calories than the packets.

I found this easy recipe on allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • Directions

    In a small bowl, mix together chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, oregano, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper. Store in an airtight container.

    This makes 10 servings.  I used 2 tablespoons in my taco meat (we use ground turkey)

    Pig Rating:  Pig didn’t even notice the difference – yay!  I love when I can make things healthier without him noticing.  LOL

    Mrs. Pig Rating:  This is easy, and yum!

    Little Pig Rating:  Neither of the kids noticed either – SCORE!

    3 Comments »

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    1. Tacos? wait…? you eat tacos? whaaaaaat. LOL. I think you just helped me figure out what I want for dinner tonight. thanky! 😉

    2. I’m so glad you posted this! Last time I made tacos it was with a pack of seasoning, and I determined that I really needed to try to make my own mix. I am going to try this soon, because we love tacos at my house!

    3. […] the hamburger is browned.  Then add your taco seasoning, (I use a recipe I got from my friend April’s blog, and she said she originally found it on allrecipes.com) I used about 2 1/2 tablespoons, but it […]


    Leave a Reply

        Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

