Cinco de Mayo! (Okay, so I’m a little late…)

May 12, 2008 at 6:49 pm | Posted in Cupcakes, kids | 4 Comments

Cinco de Mayo – May 5th – is a holiday in Mexico that commemorates an inital victory of Mexican forces led by General Zaragoza over French forces in the battle of Puebla on May 5th, 1862.  What Cinco de Mayo is NOT is Mexico’s Independence Day.  Their Independence Day is actually in September and a lot of people get Cindo de Mayo confused with that.  The history of Cinco de Mayo is great to celebrate, however, I know to me in college all it meant was, “Sweet!  Time to go out to Mexican restaurants and drink margaritas!”.  Okay, who am I kidding.  I’m 26 and I still think that way.  : ) 

I wanted to make a special treat this year for Cinco de Mayo because as you may have noticed, I tend to go overboard on holidays.  I just like any reason to celebrate.  I think the kids think I’m nuts.  LOL  I have been wanting to make cupcakes and I kept seeing recipes flying around for margarita cupcakes and I saw the CUTEST ones on Wilton’s website, so I decided to give it a shot.  This is the recipe that I used:

FOR THE CUPCAKES

Ingredients

  • 1 package (18.25 oz. white cake mix (no pudding in the mix)
  • 1 can (10 oz.) frozen Margarita mix, thawed (undiluted)
  • 3 egg whites
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon grated lime zest
  • Directions

    1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Line standard muffin pan with baking cups.
    2. In large bowl, combine cake mix, Margarita mix, egg whites and vegetable oil using electric mixer.
    3. Stir in lime zest; mix completely.
    4. Fill prepared pans 2/3 full.
    5. Bake 22-24 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of cupcake comes out clean.
    6. Cool in pan on cooling rack 5-8 minutes.
    7. Remove cupcakes from pan; cool completely.
    8. Frost cooled cupcakes with icing and garnish, if desired, with a strawberry and/or lime twist,

    FOR THE ICING

    Ingredients

  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened
  • 2 tablespoons key lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon key lime zest or lemon zest
  • 4-5 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • Directions

    1. In large bowl, cream butter, cream cheese, juice and zest with electric mixer until light and fluffy.
    2. Add 4 cups confectioners’ sugar, one cup at a time; continue beating until light and fluffy.
    3. If icing is too thin add additional confectioners’ sugar 1 tablespoon at a time.

    Pig Rating:  The pig is not a fan of lime so he didn’t try them.

    Mrs. Pig Rating:  These were kind of odd for me.  They were really good, just not what I’m used to a cupcake tasting like I think.  Not used to such a limey taste.  They were definitely different and fun though!  I chose not to use the recipe with alcohol because I hate Tequila.  Sick.

    Co-Worker Rating:  My coworkers really liked these – those that weren’t too scared to try them.  HA!

    Yes, I just happen to have sombreros randomly around the house.  Reminents of those Mexican restaurant margarita nights….  : )  The kids loved them – they wore them for dinner that night.  HA!

    4 Comments »

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    1. Your margarita cupcakes are so freaking fabulous! Loving the sprinkles around the rim… I have to say that I am loving that you are totally into cupcakes with me now. I am so proud. sniff
      ps. The kiddies are so cute in their HUGE sombreros! LMAO

    2. Clara – thanks! I definitely like to make them when I have time. They are so fun and you can do so many things with them! 🙂
      Aw, thanks. They love all of my crazy things I have for our holidays. LOL

    3. April – I can only hope to be like you when I become a mom! I can tell how much you love life!!

    4. Aw, thanks Michele. 🙂 We definitely have fun in our house 99% of the time. It’s a rule. 🙂


    Leave a Reply

        Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

