Mini Penne with Spicy Chicken Alfredo

May 6, 2008 at 11:24 pm | Posted in Chicken, pasta | 3 Comments

My mom recently bought me a new cookbook (she always buys me great ones!) and this was no exception.  She bought me Sandra Lee Semi Homemade 20 Minute Meals.  This is my first Sandra Lee cookbook and I started going through it as soon as I got home from her house.  There are so many yummy, quick, easy recipes in here.  Some people might not want to make this stuff because it’s not really homemade, but I need quick easy dinner recipes – soccer, T-ball, Tommy working late, etc., stuff always gets in the way and I like quick easy  meals. 

The first one that I wanted to try was “mini penne with spicy chicken alfredo”.  It looked so good and so easy.  We love pasta recipes and everything in this one looked good.

Ingredients

8 oz dried mini penne pasta (I used wheat pasta)
1 jar (16 oz) Alfredo sauce (I used light)
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
2 packages (6oz each) refrigerated cooked chicken breast strips (I used boneless skinless chick breasts cut into strips)
1 can (2.25 oz) olives – I omitted

Directions

1.  In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain well; return to hot pot.  Cover; keep warm.
2.  Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, combine Alfredo sauce, tomatoes, Italian seasoning, and red pepper flakes over medium heat.  Stir in chicken and olives.  Bring to a simmer; cook for 10 minutes.
3.  Server hot over cooked pasta.  Top with Parmesan cheese.

Mr. Pig Rating:  Mr. Pig thought this one was okay.  It wasn’t his fave, but he said not bad. 

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I actually liked this one.  It has tons of flavor and it’s super easy which I loved for a quick dinner.  It’s definitely worth a try I think.  I am saving the recipe – I had leftovers for lunch today too.  : )

 

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ohhh that looks so yummy!

  2. I like Sandra Lee, though I think she is crazy with changing the decor all the time, but I can dig her semi-homemade ideas. Pasta looks yum!

  3. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a
    very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come
    here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Great work!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

