Honey Glazed Chicken

April 28, 2008 at 10:43 pm | Posted in Chicken | 1 Comment

Surprise!  Another chicken recipe.  You are shocked right?  : ) 

I stumbled on the My Kitchen Cafe blog a couple of weeks ago and I instantly fell in love.  I love how her recipes are easy for dinner and most of the time things that kids will actually eat.  Those with kids know what a challenge this can be.  I’m pretty sure I survived on Spaghettios and corn for several years of my life.  Oh yeah, and pizza with the toppings scraped off.  Anyway…back to the recipe at hand.  I saw this recipe for Honey Glazed Chicken on My Kitchen Cafe and thought it would be something fun to try one night when the kids are here.  I served this wtih white rice and edamame (green beans for the kids).  It was a pretty fun dinner because I bought some fortune cookies (I wanted to make them but ran out of time…darn it!) and Tommy brought home chopsticks from work and the kids had a good time trying those out.  Will picked up on it instantly which is no surprise since he is extremely coordinated just like his daddy. 

Ingredients

* Note: I doubled the sauce as suggested by My Kitchen Cafe.  I suggest doing this!

2 lbs of diced uncooked chicken breast
1/3 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
Salt and pepper to taste
4 TB butter
1/4 cup honey
3 TB lemon juice
2 TB soy sauce
1/2 tsp. ground ginger

Directions

Heat oven to 350. In a shallow dish combine the flower and seasonings. Dip each piece of chicken in flour mixture and coat evenly.

Melt 2 TB butter in a shallow baking dish, large enough to accommodate chicken in a single layer. Arrange chicken in pan and bake uncovered for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, melt remaining butter and add honey, lemon juice, soy sauce and ginger.

After chicken has baked the 30 minutes, turn each piece over and pour sauce mixture evenly over chicken. Bake another 30 to 40 minutes basting frequently.

 

Pig Rating:  The pig thought this was pretty good.  He said, “Tastes like Chinese food.”  Um, yeah.  I guess that is good?  Anyway, he said he liked it.  : )

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I am not a huge fan of Chinese food but I wanted to try something different and I thought this was really good.  I will probably make this one again.

Little Pig Rating:  Will liked it – I think he liked just picking it up with chopsticks.  Sheridan (Miss Picky Pants) did at least try it but she wasn’t a fan.  She, like me at that age, will probably spend a couple of years eating nothing but ravioli and green beans.  Hindsight….

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I lurve that blog too. Its one of my go-to dinner blogs. I definitely wanna try this one so I am glad to hear your good reviews. Too bad Sheridan didn’t like it but kids don’t have a refined palette yet (said the girl who only wants mac&cheese as a kid).


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

