Bruschetta Chicken

April 16, 2008 at 12:42 am | Posted in Chicken | 11 Comments

I have been wanting to make Bruschetta chicken for a really long time.  I absolutely love every Italian food I have ever tried and I figured that I could make this one pretty healthy and still yummy.  I love tomatoes, basil, chicken, etc.  Tommy however…does not share my love for tomatoes.  He is out of town tonight so tonight was the perfect night for me to make this meal.  I have to say…I am not disappointed at all.  My only disappointment is that I didn’t make 2 chicken breasts so that I could take one to work tomorrow.  : ) 

I based the recipe that I used on this one that I found on allrecipes.com (this one makes 4 servings)

(Not the best pic but I attempted…LOL)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup KRAFT Sun-Dried Tomato Vinaigrette Dressing, divided (I used Good Seasons Sun Dried Tomato Vinaigrette with roasted red peppers dressing)
  • 4 small skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1 medium tomato, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup KRAFT Low-Moisture Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • Directions

    1. Place large sheet of heavy-duty foil over half of grill grate; preheat grill to medium heat. Pour 2 Tbsp. of the dressing over chicken in resealable plastic bag; seal bag. Turn bag over several times to evenly coat chicken with the dressing. Refrigerate 10 min. to marinate. Remove chicken from marinade; discard bag and marinade.
    2. Grill chicken on uncovered side of grill 6 min. Meanwhile, combine tomatoes, cheese, basil and remaining 2 Tbsp. dressing. (I used my George Foreman grill…I didn’t feel like going outside…)
    3. Turn chicken over; place, cooked-side up, on foil on grill. Top evenly with tomato mixture. Close lid. Grill an additional 8 min. or until chicken is cooked through (170 degrees F).

    *  Note:  Since I used my George Foreman to grill the chicken, once it was grilled through, I put the mixture on top of it and put it in the oven on broil for about 6 minutes. 

    Mrs. Pig Rating:  This was SOOOO freaking good.  This is a really easy recipe that isn’t too horrible for you.  I had a side of steamed broccoli with this.  I think I’m discovering that I adore basil.  I will eat this one again any day of the week.  I think serving this with pasta would be good but since I had pasta last night I didn’t want to go there again.  Just……MAKE THIS.  : )

     

    11 Comments »

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    1. Oh yum. I want some! Can you bring a plate of it over?

    2. Yes of course!!! Anything for you dear! 🙂

    3. ooohhhh. This look SO yum! Definitely gonna star it! How could T not like this? chicken, tomatoes, basil. Whats not to love?

    4. Awww thanks … G & T aren’t home so just hop on a plane with your chicken and we’ll hang out and get drunk. Sound good?

    5. Clara – Tommy isn’t a big tomato fan 😦

      Nikki – I’m so there!!!

    6. Looks great! This is so getting a gr star for me to make soon 😉

    7. Whaaat!! I will definitely have to try this one. Jake’s not a fan of the tomatoes either but I’m might be able to convince him of this one 🙂

    8. John isn’t a tomato fan either, but I think he’s just going to have to try this. 🙂 He can pick around the tomatos, lol!

    9. I’m still waiting for you and my chick-a-dee on a plate. WTF I’m hungry 🙂

    10. I’m totally making this! I am always looking for more chicken recipes. Thanks! 😀

    11. HOLY YUM!! This looks freakin’ delish! I’m def. adding this to my list of things to make 🙂


    Leave a Reply

        Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

