Penne w/ Vodka Sauce – Cooking Light & Andrea style!

March 20, 2008 at 9:33 pm | Posted in pasta | 3 Comments

I love pasta dishes so much.  I could eat pasta every day if my waistline and booty would let me.  I would never get tired of it!  I try to limit our pasta dishes to once a week or once every two weeks but when I saw this one on Andrea’s blog, I knew that I had to make it.  I love penne with vodka sauce and I liked that she got this one from Cooking Light.  She modified it a bit, but I think it’s still not completely bad for the approaching bikini season.  : )

Ingredients
1/2 pound uncooked penne pasta (I used wheat pasta)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
1 teaspoon salt, divided
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup vodka
1/4 cup fat-free, low-sodium chicken broth
1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
1/4 cup whipping cream
3 tablespoons sliced fresh basil

Directions

– Cook pasta according to package directions, ommitting salt and fat.
– Heat oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat.
– Add onion and saute 4 minutes until tender.
– Add 1/4 teaspoon slat, pepper, and garlic; saute for 1 mintue.
– Remove from heat and add vodka; bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer 3 minutes or until liquid reduces by 1/2.
– Stir in 1/2 teaspoon salt, broth, and tomatoes; bring to a boil.
– Reduce heat and simmer for 8 minutes.
– Use immersion blender or transfer sauce to blender and process until smooth.
– Stir in cream and cook for two more minutes, stirring constantly.
– Remove from heat.  Stir in cooked pasta, remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and basil.
– Serve immediately.

 Pig Rating:  He really liked this one – score!!!  Thanks Andrea!!  He was already asking if there would be leftovers to eat the next day.  : )

Mrs. Pig Rating:  This was AWESOME!  This is seriously one of my favorite pasta dishes that I have made so far.  I think next time I may add some chicken to it, but this one is fantastical! 

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glad you liked it! Wasn’t it awesome?? Definitely not SO bad for bikini season.

  2. this looks tasty! but poo I don’t have an immersion or blender. 😦

  3. If you are a real estate professional, be really careful in dealing with KoRes Corp. in Weston Florida. Tulio Rodriguez & Monica Cataluna-Shand are shysters and look for anyway to steal ones customers. They attempt to steal your client by requesting their contact information and later contact them behind your back to get them to deal with them directly.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

