Jambalaya

March 18, 2008 at 1:05 am | Posted in Chicken, rice | 1 Comment

Finally I have some time to blog update!!  YAY!  I feel like life has gotten so busy lately, yet I can’t exactly pinpoint what is making it that way.  I think a combo of things.  Anyway…

Tommy loves spicy food.  Some of our dear friends moved recently to Mississippi.  They always cooked this amazing Jambalaya and smoked sausage and we found out that the secret was that they used spicy sausage that came straight from Louisiana.  When they moved and were cleaning out their freezer, they had a huge package of that sausage so they asked us if we wanted it…um, yes!!! 

I thought I might try to make a jambalaya with it.  I had never made one homemade so I thought, no time like the present!  I found a recipe that sounded pretty good on allrecipes.com and I went to it!

(I’m not exactly sure that you can take a “good” picture of jambalaya…LOL)

Ingredients

  • 1 (2 to 3 pound) whole chicken, cut into pieces (I used chicken breasts shredded)
  • 1 pound smoked sausage, sliced
  • 3 green bell peppers, diced (I used green chiles)
  • 2 onions, diced
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) cans peeled and diced tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 5 bay leaves
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 1 cup uncooked white rice

Directions

  1. Place chicken and sausage in a large pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until chicken is opaque and falls from the bone, 45 minutes. (I usually do this the night before and refrigerate to skim the fat.) Remove chicken and sausage, reserving broth. Shred chicken.
  2. In a large pot over medium heat, cook bell pepper, onion and garlic until onion is translucent, adding reserved chicken broth if necessary. Stir in tomatoes, chili powder, pepper sauce, cayenne, Worcestershire and bay leaves; reduce heat and simmer 15 minutes.
  3. Stir the shredded chicken, sausage and tomato paste into the spiced vegetables. Continue to simmer until flavor is as spicy as you like, adding reserved liquid as needed to thin.
  4. Stir in 1 cup reserved liquid with the rice. Simmer 20 minutes, until rice is tender. Serve or continue to simmer, as desired (I served rice seperate after reading some reviews)

 Pig Rating:  The pig liked it just okay. He felt like something was missing from it.  Something that would give it a “kick”.

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I thought this was okay.  This one was more for Tommy than me as I’m not a big sausage fan (in case you hadn’t noticed) but it was pretty good.  I kind of agree with Tommy though.  Something seemed to be missing.  Hmm…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. mmmm can you send me some?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

