Easter Bunny Cake!

March 18, 2008 at 1:29 am | Posted in Cakes, Fun | 6 Comments

This is pretty weird….to be having Easter celebrations before St. Patrick’s Day even occurred?!  Totally weird.  But it happened.  On Saturday we had Easter at my parent’s house.  We do not have the kids next weekend so we kind of have to do things when we can and thankfully I have parents who are extremely laid back and undertanding of this (thanks MOM!).

 Our job on Saturday (by “our” I mean, Sheridan and I since we are the “cookers and bakers” of the house…Ha!) was to bring a dessert.  Mom mentioned a bunny cake.  The story behind the bunny cake is that my mom used to make these for my high school and 4-H bake sales back in the day and we had a good time with them.  So…I bought the stuff for Sheridan and I to do one. 

This was really fun and easy to make.  : )  You just use a box of cake mix (we used white) and used 2 – 9″ circle cake pans, bake them, and cut one circle so that you have ears and a bow tie, and viola!  A bunny cake!  Then you can ice and decorate however you choose.

Here is ours….

Isn’t it cute and festive for Easter??  The kids loved it.  : )  We used M&M’s all over it…one of Tommy’s faves!  Clara, do you love it!?  It’s a bunny! LOL

 

 

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So cute!

  2. Love it! how fun!

  3. cuteness! Someone in my family definitely made one of these every year for Easter when I was a kid!

  4. So adorable! I want to make a bunny cake now. 🙂

  5. LOVE IT! that bunny is so cute! I want to make one. So you make 2 cakes and then cut out the ears and bow from one cake? and then decorate? FUN!!

  6. Thanks all! 🙂
    CB – Yup. Just 2 9″ cakes and cut the ears and bow tie out of one of them and just put all of it together then ice it and decorate. Viola!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

