Pork Tenderloin

March 7, 2008 at 12:14 am | Posted in Pork | 4 Comments

First off, I apologize for not blog updating for awhile – seems other things have taken priority over this and some people have complained (::cough::Erin::cough::) so I figured I had better take the time tonight to do so.  I think the quote was, “I’m tired of looking at banana bread every time I go to look at your blog!”  HA!  I’m sure she meant that as lovingly as possible.  : )

Anyway, last week I decided to try making a pork tenderloin.  I have never made one, and never really had the desire to.  A big hunk of meat – ew.  But, I tend to like to throw in some variety for my husband who I am sure gets tired of chicken all of the time though he would never complain. 

I opened up the pork tenderloin and I knew that I needed to remove the fat.  Let me just say – this was right up there on disgusting moments for me with mixing the raw meat and eggs for the meatballs last week.  I really despise raw meat for some reason – and most cooked meats for that matter! 

I found several recipes on allrecipes.com, but I wanted a pretty basic one since it was my first time cooking this.  I found this recipe and decided that it looked like a pretty good one to try for my first time.  After reading the reviews I decided to kind of do a combination of several of them.  I will post my additions/changes in red next to the recipe.

 Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Italian seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 pounds pork tenderloin
  • Crushed mustard, minced garlic, minced onions, salt and pepper – I didn’t measure any of these – just threw a couple of shakes of each in the bag (my mother will be proud)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).
  2. I put the olive oil, crushed mustard, minced garlic, minced onions, salt and pepper all in a big plastic Ziploc bag.  I added the pork tenderloin, then let it marinate overnight.
  3. Mix bread crumbs and olive oil in bowl to reach consistency that would be moist enough to stick to the meat when pressed. Place pork on a shallow cooking sheet. Press the crumb mixture onto all sides of the meat until there is no pink showing, usually 1/4 inch thick.
  4. Bake for at least 35 minutes covered with foil.  Uncovered then baked until a meat thermometer reads 165 degrees F (75 degrees C) or until there is no pink when the pork is cut. Let the pork rest for 10 minutes, then cut into 1/2 inch slices

 

(This is a pretty horrible picture…see, even my camera hates meat!)

Pig Rating:  The pig LOVED this!  It got rave reviews which is hard to do with the pig.  Usually things are just “okay” or “good”.  He absolutely loved this one.

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I actually liked this one despite my hatred for touching it before it was cooked.  The meat was really tender, moist, and juicy.  I will definitely be making this one again!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ooh, sounds yummy! Back when I still had my military ID and could shop at the PX, pork tenderloins were SO cheap. We ate them every week! I haven’t had one in so long now…I might just have to try this!

  2. Yummy! i must try this. and PS i think me and Erin would get along fabulously. haha.

  3. Alanna – military ID’s are great! My bro gets cheap and free stuff all the time!

    Clara – Yeah, you would. That is why you both love me so much. HA!

  4. Ha, I usually leave the fat on the tenderloin until it is done cooking. It is a lot easier to get off with a knife then. If you want to try another good recipe, try the one that I did for Lorena’s challenge. You really don’t even need to touch the meat for that one!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

