Yummy Banana Bread

February 28, 2008 at 2:49 am | Posted in bread | 10 Comments

I have been looking for the perfect banana bread recipe for quite some time.  It seems like every one I make is too dry, or not flavorful enough, or too this or too that.  When I saw a recipe on Katie’s blog at Good Things Catered, I thought I would give it a shot because she always has such great things on her blog.  Hers is one of my faves to check up on every day  : ). 

I had 3 bananas that were looking quite pitiful hanging from my banana tree this past weekend so I just let them hang and look more pitiful and more pitiful every day until finally today they were ready for banana bread!  You know the type – so pitiful and sad that they look like they might just literally fall off of the banana tree at any given moment?  Those are perfect for banana bread!  And with Tommy coming home tomorrow night I thought a treat would be nice for him.  : )

 Copied directly from Katie’s blog:

Ingredients:
1/2 c. shortening
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 c. mashed bananas (about 3 medium; the browner, the better!)
3 Tbsp sour cream
1 Tbsp lemon juice
2 c. flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees
-In bowl of stand mixer, cream shortening and sugar.
-Beat in eggs one at a time; then bananas, sour cream, and lemon juice.
-Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.
-Slowly add dry ingredients to mixture.
-Pour into greased and floured 9x5x3 loaf pan.
-Bake for 60 minutes.

 Mrs. Pig Rating:  This is a REALLY good banana bread.  It is really moist and has a great flavor.  I definitely think this is the best one that I have made so far!  Thank you Katie!

Recipe from Good Things Catered, Picture from my kitchen

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ohh yum! I never have bad bananas. Is it bad that I want to buy bananas, hide them and then make banana bread with them?

  2. looks soooo good! I want some! I will def. try this recipe.

  3. Nikki – Yes. Get them and hide them out for about a week. They will be PPPPERRRFECT! LOL

  4. It looks perfect! I’d love a slice right now.

  5. eeewww bananas are yucky BUT your banana bread looks fierce…

  6. Oh girl, you don’t even know how ferosh this bread is!

  7. Aww! Thanks for liking my blog. 🙂 I’m so glad you tried this bread. It really ended up being a good one. I want to make some more. Maybe I will tonight! But there is one thing I’m not so happy about — your awesome pictures TRUMP mine! lol. 🙂

  8. Katie – HA! Yes, your blog rocks my world. 🙂 Oh man, I never take good pics so I was pretty excited about this one I have to admit. LOL

  9. I’m with CB…I think bananas are icky, but I do love banana bread!!!

  10. […] banana’s in my freezer, so I thought it was the perfect opportunity to make banana bread.  April posted a banana bread recipe a couple days ago; so I ran it through a points calculator (adding […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

