Andrea’s Turkey Meatballs

February 25, 2008 at 3:00 am | Posted in pasta, Turkey | 2 Comments

I have to admit…normally, I am not a fan of meat, other than chicken.  The thought of a big hunk of meat is not appealing to me usually.  However, I love Italian food and I was in the mood for pasta, but something different.  So I saw these meatballs on my friend Andrea’s blog and they seemed to be pretty healthy and they looked really yummy, so I thought, why not?  I haven’t had meatballs in my spaghetti for years and the ingredients sounded really good! 

I took out the ingredients and started mixing them all together and then got to the step where I had to actually mix with my hands.  I’m not quite so sure that it would have been THAT bad except for not only did I have to dig into raw meat, but I had to touch a raw egg mixed in with it?!  That goes way beyond my normal threshold but I was already that far into it so I just dug in.  I have to tell you….feeling all of that with my hands really nauseated me.  LOL  I truly do have a low tolerance for meat and slimy things.  Anyway…I plugged on.  My mother would be proud.  : ) 

I did use an ice cream scoop like Andrea mentioned doing for making the meatballs all about the same size.  I threw them in the pan and let them do their thing.  These were kind of high maintenance as you have to constantly turn them to ensure that they are evenly cooked.

I served these with my favorite spaghetti sauce (yes, I cheated and used a jar sauce…I’m lazy today) and wheat pasta.  This made about 4 servings – I have plenty for lunch this week now!  : )

Pig Rating:  Pig is in Dubai : (

Mrs. Pig Rating:  Okay, like I said, I wanted to hurl when touching this raw meat with the raw egg….having said that, these are really REALLY good!  I am not even a big meat fan, but these were seriously some of the best meatballs I’ve ever eaten.  I will definitely keep this recipe without a doubt.  I recommend this to anyone wanting a somewhat healthy meatball recipe. 

 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. w00t! I’m proud of you, twin sister. I also was beside myself when I had to do the mixing by hand, but once you start, it’s really not that bad. Plus, these meatballs are so delish. I always freeze half the batch in sauce for another dinner. They freeze and reheat well, so you get two dinners in one! I’m glad you liked it!

  2. Andrea – thank you, thank you! I was proud of myself as well. The raw egg almost did me in. I’m not going to lie. I should have freezed them! I figure I have enough for lunch leftovers now for a couple of days. : )


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

