February SBGEX: Kitchen Gadget Exchange

February 24, 2008 at 9:37 pm | Posted in Cupcakes, Fun, kitchen utensils, SBGEX | 3 Comments

As you all know by now, a group of my wonderful foodie friends and I have a “baked goods exchange” every month.  This month we decided to do instead of baked goods, a kitchen gadget exchange.  I thought this sounded like so much!!!  There are always gadgets that I want but won;t actually buy for myself (among some of my current wants – a garlic press, a mini muffin pan, a dough scoop…I could go on!) ever. 

One of the things I have been wanting is a little set to help me learn to ice cupcakes and cakes – something to actually make my icing look pretty!  Some of my friends do amazing things with cupcakes (like Clara @ iheartcuppycakes).  Now, while I doubt I ever get that into it, I would like to be able to do some neat things every now again. 

My February gift arrived Friday evening and I was so excited!!  My secret baker/exchanger this month was….Alanna!!!  I opened it up and inside was a 25 piece Wilton cake decorating set!!!  But wait, that wasn’t all….also some awesome Anne Taintor napkins, because I just adore her stuff.  But best of all, she had put in some of her latest cupcakes – the Vanilla Nut Martini cupcakes.  I have to tell you, what is so funny about this is that all week I have been telling her how good these look and how I couldn’t wait to make them this weekend.  I have been literally just drooling over them – I LOOVE vanilla and these just looked amazing!!  So now I don’t actually  have to make them this weekend – I can just eat these!  Um, actually though, they are already gone.  They were so good.  They didn’t last long.  My best friend was literally just eating the icing out of the pastry bag.  These are hands down, THE best cupcakes I have ever eaten.  The icing absolutely  makes the cupcake.  You are awesome Alanna!!!!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. aw shucks. ::blushing::
    Alanna rocks! You got some great stuff. Love those napkins! haha.

  2. Hee hee! 🙂 I’m so glad you loved the cuppys. 🙂 I had SUCH a hard time not spilling the beans when you were drooling over them all week!!! 🙂

  3. What a great gift….I should have participated! 🙂 Next time, I’m in!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

