Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

February 5, 2008 at 12:11 am | Posted in Cupcakes, Dessert, kids | 7 Comments

My friend Clara had this awesome recipe on her cupcake blog and I  knew I had to try it.  Now, I can tell you for sure that hers are definitely much prettier than mine, she being the cupcake queen and all, but I was pleased with mine nonetheless.  : ) 

Sheridan and I decided to make these on Saturday as we both love snickerdoodles and she has such a good time helping me bake and cook.  As you can see, she loves to use the mixer and she is not a ham at all.  ; )

I used Clara’s cupcake recipe as well as her cinnamon cream cheese icing recipe.  The one thing I will say about the icing is that it made way too much for my cuppys for some reason.  This made about 20 cupcakes, but I still had a ton of icing leftover.  Of course, I don’t use a ton of icing on mine, so who knows.  I also used less powdered sugar on the icing than the recipe called for. 

INGREDIENTS

1 package plain white cake mix (sorry for those who refuse to use cake mix…I sure as heck don’t…easy and yummy – my kind of recipe!)
1 cup whole milk
1 stick of butter, melted
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

To make cupcakes
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line your cupcake tin.

Place cake mix, milk, melted butter, eggs, vanilla, and cinnamon in a large mixing bowl. Blend for three minutes (stop to scrape once).

 INGREDIENTS

8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
5 3/4-6 1/4 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1/2 cup butter, softened, not margarine
1 teaspoon vanilla

INSTRUCTIONS

Beat together cream cheese, butter, cinnamon and vanilla on medium speed until light and fluffy.

Add about half the powdered sugar and beat until mixed well. Then gradually add the remaining powdered sugar until you reach a spreading consistency.

Pig Rating:  The pig normally doesn’t even like things like cupcakes but he ate more than one of these.  He said they kind of remind him of cinnamon rolls or doughnuts.

Mrs. Pig Rating:  I LOVE these.  So moist and so full of flavor.  This is one of the best cupcakes I have ever eaten or made.

Little Pig Rating:  The kids both loved these.  Will was still talking about it the next morning actually.  : )

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Way to stand up for cake mix! I’m all about easy, although I can be persuaded to go the difficult route, given a good recipe. I’m glad to hear Will was able to keep these down. I don’t think the memory would be so great the second time around.

  2. Dawn – HA! Yes, thankfully he still likes the cupcakes even though he was sick this weekend. Good thing because these are a keeper in my book!

  3. So glad everyone liked them! Oh yeah, I should have mentioned that you could probably 1/2 the frosting recipe because it does make alot! oops! But I could eat that frosting by itself so… extra is ok! 😉

  4. ps. Sheridan is so cute using the mixer! I use to LOVE mixing the cake batter for my mom when I was little too! Memories…

  5. Clara – yeah, you should have mentioned that. Geez woman. LOL JK! I think the kids would have loved for me to just give them the bowl of leftover frosting as well.

    And thanks 🙂 She is super cute when she helps me cook. She gets so excited about it – I love it!

  6. Okay, so I’m definetly going to have to make these cupcakes now. Looks soooo yummy!

  7. Yours came out great! And the pic is too cute. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

