Erin’s sugar cookies

February 5, 2008 at 12:44 am | Posted in Cookies | 10 Comments

My best friend Erin is known for her sugar cookies.  They are just so freaking good.  Everyone wants them for every occasion – that was my only request for my bridal shower, I always ask for them at Christmas, etc.  She hates the pain of making them but she humors me every now and again and makes them.  : )

I’ve been begging her for the recipe for quite some time now and she jokes that it is a secret and she can’t give it out.  Well, I finally got the recipe and I made some of them this weekend.  I was hoping that this wouldn’t be one of those things that when someone else makes them they taste so much better than when you do, you know?  Luckily, that wasnt’ the case!  These tasted the same as if she had made them – super easy recipe and super yummo cookies!  They are just the right thickness and just the right amount of sweet in my book. 

 Ingredients
½ cup shortening
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2TBSP milk
1TBSP vanilla
2TBSP baking powder
3 ½ cups cake flour

 Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Cream shortening and sugar together. Add well beaten eggs. Add vanilla and milk.  Sift dry ingredients together. Mix dry ingredients with shortening/sugar mixture.

Roll out on floured surface. Cut into shapes. Bake for 8 minutes.

 

Pig Rating: The pig isn’t big on sugar cookies so I don’t think he has even tried these yet.

Mrs. Pig Rating: So freaking good. I love them. They are the kind of cookies that make me want a glass of milk even though I’m not a huge milk fan.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. aawww purdiful! I will have to try these soon. You should totally enter them in the Valentine foodie contest! Link to contest in my blog. 🙂

  2. So are you gonna get yourself in trouble for posting the secret recipe?

  3. Ditto CB. But I’ll even give you the direct link. 🙂 http://kochtopf.twoday.net/stories/4632712/

    Love the cookies, they make me want to make some!

  4. These look yummy. My Nana has one of those secret sugar cookie recipies that we all love, too. Unfortunately we can’t get it because it’s one of those dash of this pinch of that kind of things. I’m going to try your’s though.

  5. Clara & Nina – Hm, interesting! I might have to do that! 🙂

    KRMWV – definitly try these! They are easy and I think they are the best ones I’ve ever eaten other than the Amish ones. 🙂

  6. Sugar cookies always seem so boring, but then if you have a fresh, homemade one, they are so incredibly delicious! 🙂 And these are adorable, too!

  7. FINALLY! hehe

  8. I can’t believe you put my “secret” recipe on your cooking blog!!! I hope you all like them. It took me many failed attemps. I’m glad April was able to make them on the first try!

  9. […] several things to help my mom out.  One thing I knew that I had to make was sugar cookies – I used my best friend’s recipe of course.  They are the best EVER.  I even used my Wilton cake decorating set and piped words […]

  10. […] birthday to my great friend Clara!)  I baked my famous sugar cookies (Actually my best friend Erin’s famous sugar cookies….) for a party that we went to last night.  Aren’t they […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

