Heaven in a Wonton Wrapper…

November 17, 2008 at 12:35 am | Posted in appetizer, Chicken, football food, Mexican food | 4 Comments

I tried making these once before going off of someone telling me the recipe, but not actually having the recipe in which these were originally made.  When I made them before they were just okay, which was not good enough for me.  We went to a Halloween party a couple weeks ago and our friend had made these and they are one of our favorites.  I emailed her for the recipe and she was nice enough to give it to me.  This time when I made these they were most excellent!!!  I cut this recipe in thirds to make for just Tommy and I tonight for dinner.  These are definitely not healthy so not something to eat all of the time but definitely on our list to make again for a fun night!

Recipe from my friend Karen

Ingredients

1 pkg wonton wrappers (makes 50), sold in produce section at Schnucks
                 or
1 pkg egg roll wrappers cut in quarters  (makes 80)
3-4 chicken breasts boiled shredded into small pieces
2 packages shredded taco cheese
1 regular size bottle Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing (regular – not light or fat free)
chili powder
1 diced green pepper (I used green onions chopped thinly)

Directions

preheat oven to 425….push wonton wrappers into muffin tins, they will resemble mini taco salad bowls…bake 3-4 minutes until edges are brown.  Continue with all wrappers until they are complete.  Arrange baked shells on cookie sheets.
 
Mix shredded chicken and entire bottle of ranch dressing.  Add as much chili powder you wish….I probable use about 1 or 2 tsp.  Fill shells with chicken mixture and sprinkle each one with addtl’ chili powder.  Top with green peppers and cheese.  Put back into oven until cheese is melted.  Approx 2-3 min.

Mrs. Pig Rating:  These are to die for.  I could eat these until I was sick.  They are pretty easy to make and I have never heard a bad thing about them.  I recommend you go make them…NOW!  We both thought they were really rich though – we aren’t used to dressing that isn’t oil/vinegar based and we only eat fat free so this was insane for our taste buds!

Pig Rating:  The pig says, “Tell your blog that the Pig gives this recipe all hooves up!”  He loves these things.  LOL

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmmm… these sound so good! Definitely gotta star this for my next partay! PS. Your profile pic cracks me up!
    /Clara

  2. These look yummy and with a cheese change and making sure I have rice wonton wrappers I could eat them. I’ve always found it silly that the wonton wrappers are in with the produce. It seems like they should be over with tortillas or other wrap-py items.

  3. And this is mexican food? But it looks good though.

  4. oh…wow. Anthony will LOVE these. You’re going to be on his favorites list :0)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

